19 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Reece Milton - Album Review: Elixir

05 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut album from Wellington-born and Nelson-raised singer songwriter Reece Milton. As with many other young Kiwi musicians, Reece was involved with Smokefree Rockquest, where his band won their regional heats in 2018. In that same year he won a competition to record his song Once in a Lifetime at StudioBox and have it produced by Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers etc.) which in turn saw him being offered a recording contract with Antipodes Records. That song was released as a single in 2019, and was followed up by Atmosphere, Take My Hand, and Take It Easy, with all four included on this album.

This is a very modern sounding release, and while it may have somewhat more guitar than many of today’s pop releases there is no doubt this is the genre to which is it most closely aligned There are elements of soft jazz, and even some rock, plenty of soul, but this is a pop album and feels aimed at people who are a great deal younger than me (although that isn’t hard to be fair). There is no doubt this is clever, but there is little in the way of bottom end in the arrangements which means they can come across as fairly one-sided without much depth. The production keeps his vocals front and centre, and although there are times when he puts a slight edge on them these are also quite one-dimensional.

All those negatives to one side, the very first time I played this I realised my foot was tapping along to the beat which was somewhat surprising. This is a very modern sounding release, and I believe that most of the issues I identified with it, and the reason I am not a fan, has far more to do with my own personal preferences than the performance of Reece, his band, and the production team. It is incredibly clean, and definitely aimed at the youth and radio market. I would have liked to have heard more in the vein of Runaway Girl, where there is some nice, distorted guitar in the background, but just when it feels like it might become something of a banger it reverts to form and turns into very much a middle of the road number. 

Given the commercial aspect of this album, and the way it closely aligns with much modern radio programming, it would not surprise me if this a major chart success, as there is no doubt it is very clever, wonderfully produced, and bang on point. Aimed at those who follow the latest youth trends, I have rated it for what it is worth in that market, but personally I doubt I will ever play this again.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Reece Milton

With a mind plagued by constant hooks, phrases and riffs, Reece Milton was born with a virtuoso ability as a guitarist and song writing was a natural progression for him from day one. His unique ability to craft lyrics that are mostly based on themes instead of real events gives his listeners licence to develop their own response to them and his guitar solos are the stuff air guitar dreams are made of.

Born in Wellington and raised in Nelson, Reece Milton is a New Zealand singer/songwriter and guitarist. Reece developed his passion and skill for music and song writing at high school and through his involvement in Smokefree Rockquest, of which his band won regional heats in 2018. In that same year Reece won a competition to have his song Once in a Lifetime recorded at StudioBox and produced by the legendary welsh producer Greg Haver (of Manic Street Preachers and Melanie C fame). This experience resulted in him being offered a recording contract with Antipodes Records and a management contract with StudioBox Creative.

Reece released his debut single Once in a Lifetime in 2019 and has since followed up in 2020 with singles Atmosphere and Take My Hand and Take It Easy all with accompanying music videos.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Reece Milton

Releases

Elixir
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem