1 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Reece Milton - Album Review: Elixir

05 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut album from Wellington-born and Nelson-raised singer songwriter Reece Milton. As with many other young Kiwi musicians, Reece was involved with Smokefree Rockquest, where his band won their regional heats in 2018. In that same year he won a competition to record his song Once in a Lifetime at StudioBox and have it produced by Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers etc.) which in turn saw him being offered a recording contract with Antipodes Records. That song was released as a single in 2019, and was followed up by Atmosphere, Take My Hand, and Take It Easy, with all four included on this album.

This is a very modern sounding release, and while it may have somewhat more guitar than many of today’s pop releases there is no doubt this is the genre to which is it most closely aligned There are elements of soft jazz, and even some rock, plenty of soul, but this is a pop album and feels aimed at people who are a great deal younger than me (although that isn’t hard to be fair). There is no doubt this is clever, but there is little in the way of bottom end in the arrangements which means they can come across as fairly one-sided without much depth. The production keeps his vocals front and centre, and although there are times when he puts a slight edge on them these are also quite one-dimensional.

All those negatives to one side, the very first time I played this I realised my foot was tapping along to the beat which was somewhat surprising. This is a very modern sounding release, and I believe that most of the issues I identified with it, and the reason I am not a fan, has far more to do with my own personal preferences than the performance of Reece, his band, and the production team. It is incredibly clean, and definitely aimed at the youth and radio market. I would have liked to have heard more in the vein of Runaway Girl, where there is some nice, distorted guitar in the background, but just when it feels like it might become something of a banger it reverts to form and turns into very much a middle of the road number. 

Given the commercial aspect of this album, and the way it closely aligns with much modern radio programming, it would not surprise me if this a major chart success, as there is no doubt it is very clever, wonderfully produced, and bang on point. Aimed at those who follow the latest youth trends, I have rated it for what it is worth in that market, but personally I doubt I will ever play this again.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Reece Milton

With a mind plagued by constant hooks, phrases and riffs, Reece Milton was born with a virtuoso ability as a guitarist and song writing was a natural progression for him from day one. His unique ability to craft lyrics that are mostly based on themes instead of real events gives his listeners licence to develop their own response to them and his guitar solos are the stuff air guitar dreams are made of.

Born in Wellington and raised in Nelson, Reece Milton is a New Zealand singer/songwriter and guitarist. Reece developed his passion and skill for music and song writing at high school and through his involvement in Smokefree Rockquest, of which his band won regional heats in 2018. In that same year Reece won a competition to have his song Once in a Lifetime recorded at StudioBox and produced by the legendary welsh producer Greg Haver (of Manic Street Preachers and Melanie C fame). This experience resulted in him being offered a recording contract with Antipodes Records and a management contract with StudioBox Creative.

Reece released his debut single Once in a Lifetime in 2019 and has since followed up in 2020 with singles Atmosphere and Take My Hand and Take It Easy all with accompanying music videos.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Reece Milton

Releases

Elixir
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem