2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Teraset - Album Review: Bones of Contention

04 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Back in 2018, drummer Will Stairmand was undertaking interviews for Angie's Gunroom Sessions, when he came across a demo by a band called Teraset. He enjoyed it, so arranged an interview with those involved and discovered that it was guitarist Lee Mallett’s project along with some mates. After the interview Will suggested he improve the drum parts using midi, and Lee sent him some tracks which resulted in Will redoing them all, and with the new drums this became the first album, 2018’s Staring Down The End. For 2020’s Shadow of the Vulture, they brought in bassist Ralph Broadley with singer Wayland, but after it was released, Ralph stepped up to take on lead vocals as well.  This is Teraset’s third album but is the first album to feature Ralph on lead vocals, the first time Will has provided lyrics, their first recording to be released on vinyl, plus they used Dave Rhodes to work on the masters for the vinyl. The band have also gained a rhythm guitarist in Jakob Notton who joined too late to play on the album, but the band now feels complete as a quartet with two guitarists.

It is not difficult to see where these guys have most of their influences, probably due to their age in fairness, and that is the old school bands like Obituary, Death, and Pestilence, while they also throw a nod at the classic British grindcore acts like Napalm Death and Carcass yet keeping it as a much slower speed. It is the speed which sets them apart, as they are often slower than even groove metal bands such as Sepultura and there are times when they are heading towards doom territory on tracks such as Epitaph. The drumming is a very important aspect of this, setting the groove and the pace, and unlike many metal drummers Will uses a wide variety of different approaches and styles which means double kick drums are effective when they are deployed, he steps out at times, and goes around the kit only when it makes sense, and his use of snare and cymbals are particularly effective. Lee provided all the guitars on this so it is of course very tight, while Ralph’s bass is often locked in so it sounds like the bottom end of the melodic line as opposed to providing a foundation which is left to Will on his own. Ralph’s vocals are very deep, with an edge of gruffness and while solid death also have black metal tendencies which give them yet another flavour. Opener Far Removed may start as a blast, but within the first minute we get three different speeds and sections, showing there is way more to these guys than just relying on volume (although having seen them play I can vouch they use that as well).

I have not heard the previous two albums, so cannot comment how much they are different, but Ralph sounds like he has always been the singer and with the variety in approach throughout, this is a wonderfully solid albums that fans of any of the aforementioned bands would do well to seek out.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Teraset

Four piece Death Metal band with members from Auckland and the Waikato, mixing Old School Death with groove and a more modern sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Teraset

Releases

Bones of Contention
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem