26 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Teraset - Album Review: Bones of Contention

04 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Back in 2018, drummer Will Stairmand was undertaking interviews for Angie's Gunroom Sessions, when he came across a demo by a band called Teraset. He enjoyed it, so arranged an interview with those involved and discovered that it was guitarist Lee Mallett’s project along with some mates. After the interview Will suggested he improve the drum parts using midi, and Lee sent him some tracks which resulted in Will redoing them all, and with the new drums this became the first album, 2018’s Staring Down The End. For 2020’s Shadow of the Vulture, they brought in bassist Ralph Broadley with singer Wayland, but after it was released, Ralph stepped up to take on lead vocals as well.  This is Teraset’s third album but is the first album to feature Ralph on lead vocals, the first time Will has provided lyrics, their first recording to be released on vinyl, plus they used Dave Rhodes to work on the masters for the vinyl. The band have also gained a rhythm guitarist in Jakob Notton who joined too late to play on the album, but the band now feels complete as a quartet with two guitarists.

It is not difficult to see where these guys have most of their influences, probably due to their age in fairness, and that is the old school bands like Obituary, Death, and Pestilence, while they also throw a nod at the classic British grindcore acts like Napalm Death and Carcass yet keeping it as a much slower speed. It is the speed which sets them apart, as they are often slower than even groove metal bands such as Sepultura and there are times when they are heading towards doom territory on tracks such as Epitaph. The drumming is a very important aspect of this, setting the groove and the pace, and unlike many metal drummers Will uses a wide variety of different approaches and styles which means double kick drums are effective when they are deployed, he steps out at times, and goes around the kit only when it makes sense, and his use of snare and cymbals are particularly effective. Lee provided all the guitars on this so it is of course very tight, while Ralph’s bass is often locked in so it sounds like the bottom end of the melodic line as opposed to providing a foundation which is left to Will on his own. Ralph’s vocals are very deep, with an edge of gruffness and while solid death also have black metal tendencies which give them yet another flavour. Opener Far Removed may start as a blast, but within the first minute we get three different speeds and sections, showing there is way more to these guys than just relying on volume (although having seen them play I can vouch they use that as well).

I have not heard the previous two albums, so cannot comment how much they are different, but Ralph sounds like he has always been the singer and with the variety in approach throughout, this is a wonderfully solid albums that fans of any of the aforementioned bands would do well to seek out.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Teraset

Four piece Death Metal band with members from Auckland and the Waikato, mixing Old School Death with groove and a more modern sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Teraset

Releases

Bones of Contention
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Shadow of the Vulture
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Staring Down The End
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem