1 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Teraset - Album Review: Bones of Contention

04 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Back in 2018, drummer Will Stairmand was undertaking interviews for Angie's Gunroom Sessions, when he came across a demo by a band called Teraset. He enjoyed it, so arranged an interview with those involved and discovered that it was guitarist Lee Mallett’s project along with some mates. After the interview Will suggested he improve the drum parts using midi, and Lee sent him some tracks which resulted in Will redoing them all, and with the new drums this became the first album, 2018’s Staring Down The End. For 2020’s Shadow of the Vulture, they brought in bassist Ralph Broadley with singer Wayland, but after it was released, Ralph stepped up to take on lead vocals as well.  This is Teraset’s third album but is the first album to feature Ralph on lead vocals, the first time Will has provided lyrics, their first recording to be released on vinyl, plus they used Dave Rhodes to work on the masters for the vinyl. The band have also gained a rhythm guitarist in Jakob Notton who joined too late to play on the album, but the band now feels complete as a quartet with two guitarists.

It is not difficult to see where these guys have most of their influences, probably due to their age in fairness, and that is the old school bands like Obituary, Death, and Pestilence, while they also throw a nod at the classic British grindcore acts like Napalm Death and Carcass yet keeping it as a much slower speed. It is the speed which sets them apart, as they are often slower than even groove metal bands such as Sepultura and there are times when they are heading towards doom territory on tracks such as Epitaph. The drumming is a very important aspect of this, setting the groove and the pace, and unlike many metal drummers Will uses a wide variety of different approaches and styles which means double kick drums are effective when they are deployed, he steps out at times, and goes around the kit only when it makes sense, and his use of snare and cymbals are particularly effective. Lee provided all the guitars on this so it is of course very tight, while Ralph’s bass is often locked in so it sounds like the bottom end of the melodic line as opposed to providing a foundation which is left to Will on his own. Ralph’s vocals are very deep, with an edge of gruffness and while solid death also have black metal tendencies which give them yet another flavour. Opener Far Removed may start as a blast, but within the first minute we get three different speeds and sections, showing there is way more to these guys than just relying on volume (although having seen them play I can vouch they use that as well).

I have not heard the previous two albums, so cannot comment how much they are different, but Ralph sounds like he has always been the singer and with the variety in approach throughout, this is a wonderfully solid albums that fans of any of the aforementioned bands would do well to seek out.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Teraset

Four piece Death Metal band with members from Auckland and the Waikato, mixing Old School Death with groove and a more modern sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Teraset

Releases

Bones of Contention
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem