2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jack Robertson - Single Review: Dim Lights

04 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I must confess that I know nothing about singer songwriter singer songwriter Jack Robertson apart from the fact he released his debut album Broke and Broken back in 2019, and then released some singles earlier this year. When I think of a singer songwriter, I think of someone playing an acoustic guitar, with or without support, what I don’t expect is a song with an annoyingly catchy riff which owes more to the blues than anything else and contains a dynamite guitar solo near the end. Jack has described this as a collaborative indie rock song, but while I may stretch to alternative, this is no indie number as right from the off there is a lead guitar off to one side noodling, we get some great bass runs, and a drummer who is keeping it tight. I am guessing this is self-produced, but only guessing, as I would not be surprised to discover that TeMatera Smith had a hand in this somewhere as it is packed full of the things he loves to do, such as throwing in harmonies and pop influences which have no place in a song like this.

Vocally, Jack has a pure clear style which is quite at odds with the hardness of the guitar beneath him, and even though we turn away from the blues into a more pop number during the chorus, this 4:21 song has no vocals at all for the last two minutes as the riff is repeated, we get stop/starts, some wonderful soloing and an ending which was no less enjoyable for being telegraphed miles ahead. This is a fun release, and if it wasn’t for me being somewhere else on November 12th, I would be at Cassette Nine for the release show as I am sure this goes off in concert. Loads of fun.  

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Jack Robertson

New Zealand singer songwriter Jack Robertson released Broke and Broken in 2019, his first project made up of songs all written and recorded from his bedroom. With a raw sound and themes of love and hurt, Jack managed to create a small following in his country and a smattering across the world.

After a brief hiatus, Jack has kicked off 2022 with new atmospheric indie pop singles LY and Something You Like as well as acoustic pop folk ballad Everyday People Jack is now set to release the collaborative indie rock song Dim Lights.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jack Robertson

Releases

There are no releases to display for Jack Robertson.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem