2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Nukes - Album Review: Homespun

27 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I have always had a soft spot for folk music, and five years ago travelled to the other side of the world just for a folk festival (honest), but one instrument I did not come across a great deal in the UK was the ukulele, probably due in no small manner to everyone there relating that instrument to the entertainer George Formby. Here in Aotearoa, and in the Pacific in general, there is a far different approach to the instrument although this is the first time I have come across a ukulele trio (although they do also play additional instruments and also have numerous guest musicians and singers). The more I played this the more I was reminded of one of my favourite NZ trios, the mighty Turkey The Bird, as while they are also wonderful instrumentalists and songwriters there is a tongue in cheek sense of humour which pervades this album.

It was recorded from Aug 2021 to Feb 2022, with much of it taking place during lockdown. Initial tracking was mostly performed at Dave’s home in Titirangi, while performances such as brass parts and percussion were created at home and sent through to be dropped into the recordings. David Parker and Ben Collier share the writing duties, and along with Josh Parker have created an album which is full of whimsy and delight, with Rainfall being a wonderful trip to the islands, even it was inspired by North Island winters. The musicianship is a delight, and they have taken the studio environment as a canvas and brought in many colours and elements to make the arrangements complex and full of life, although at the heart the songs can still be played by the three of them on one of their many tours.

Some of the songs feel quite old and traditional, quite dated in fact, and one can imagine Not Unusual being performed in the Twenties (a special mention must be made of the brass arrangement and delicate guitar solo, both of which add so much to this song). There is no restriction to their music, just that they must make sense musically, contain loads of harmonies, and have lyrics which are interesting and tell a story, which allows them to spread in multiple directions, all of which are interesting. This does mean that one is never sure what is going to come next, and where the influences may lead them (why not drop a sitar in if that is what the song needs?) which makes this a real voyage of discovery. This is a delightful album from beginning to end, and I look forward to seeing them in concert in the near future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Nukes

The Nukes from West Auckland are far more than a ukulele band. They are high entertainment. Part vaudeville, part rat-pack, part musical car crash. This talented trio deliver an engaging mix of humour and originality that audiences love.
The innocent little uke is the instrument of choice and audiences will be staggered by what they are able achieve with it. Great song writing, musicianship and 3-part harmony combine to create a truly memorable experience.

Rollicking and rolling out of the woolliest corners of Auckland’s wild west, it’s……. The Nukes, New Zealand’s most feared and revered original ukulele trio.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Nukes

Releases

The Nukes III
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem