24 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grant Haua - Album Review: Tahanga (Unplugged)

27 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Some 40+ years ago David Coverdale sang the immortal words, “I love the blues, They tell my story, If you don't feel it you can never understand” and they are as true today as they ever were. If you get the blues, really get the blues, there is nothing else like it and although I love the electric works of Lightnin’ Hopkins, T-Bone Walker and Muddy Waters, there is something about the pre-war acoustic blues which hold a special place, people like Blind Lemon Jefferson, Blind Blake, Lead Belly and so many others. Just a person with an acoustic guitar (mostly male but check out Elizabeth Cotton if you have never heard her), a microphone, and a heart full of pain.

Last year, in my end of year Kev’s Top 10’s, I list Grant’s album Awa Blues as one of  my top 10 albums of the year, while the lead single from that, This is the Place, is still one of my favourite ever Kiwi songs. So, I was rather upset to discover this album had been released earlier this year and I had only just come across it. Grant was offered the opportunity to do a "livestream" on both the Rolling Stone France Magazine and Galago Music's Facebook pages, so he jumped at the opportunity and his label suggested he recorded the set to release as a live album. What we have here is the raw, unedited, depiction of a man and his acoustic guitar (and a beat box which I could have done without, to be honest), singing his passion while providing stunning acoustic (and sometimes electric) guitar. In fact, his playing is strangely reminiscent of both Roy Harper and his son Nick, two of the finest acoustic guitarists to ever destroy all hopes of budding learners everywhere (I have seen them both do things with an acoustic one would imagine impossible).

He gets lost in the music, and we get vocals murmurings and mumblings as he goes down an instrumental tour de force, somewhat like Ian Anderson when he is in the middle of a flute solo. This adds to the heart and reality of this, it is not clinical and auto tuned to destruction, but instead we have a real musician pouring his heart out to us all. I first listened to this on Spotify on my phone, and the wretched thing played in shuffle, which meant it started with track 9, This is the Place, and I was once again transported back to the wonderful video which accompanies the single, driving along and singing with Grant at the top of my voice. As David said, “'Cos I love the life I live, I'm gonna live the life I choose, You gotta understand I'm walking in the shadow of the blues.”

Awesome.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Grant Haua

Grant Haua
Foreword:

Grant is a “salt of the earth” kind of guy. When we put together a bio for him he said “Nah man. I am a just a guy with a guitar. You need to tell the story straight”. So who better than to tell his story than the man himself - the following is Grants bio, straight from the horse’s mouth. - DF Records

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grant Haua

Releases

Mana Blues
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Tahanga - Unplugged
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem