23 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Finger Tight - Album Review: Messages From The End of the World

20 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

In June of last year I made my way to Wine Cellar to see Melanie for the first time, and one of the bands on the bill that night were Finger Tight, and when I reviewed them I said “I was extremely impressed by the end and found it hard to believe this is just their third gig – we are going to be hearing a lot more of these guys.” Since then, I have reviewed some singles, one of which (I Hear It Rains In Seattle) is included on this their debut album which is going to make a lot of people sit up and take notice as this is a punk/pop/emo banger from start to finish. Since I saw them play, they have changed drummers, bringing in Matthew Townshend (who is guitarist in Mariner) to join with Red Rogers (vocals), Glenn Mullins (rhythm guitar and backing vocals), Jacinto de Silva (lead guitar), and Jasher Simmons (bass).

13 songs, 44 minutes, here we have guys who have an innate sense of melody and commerciality yet keep it real with riffing guitars and a powering rhythm section. The drums are an incredibly important part of their overall sound, always driving hard and never content to sit back and let the rest of the guys do the work, constantly changing approach and throwing in fills while the bass is locked in tight to provide the stability for the guitars to go off and bring the crunch. Then at the front we have Red who can be melodic or gruff and abrasive as the need requires. Just for the hell of it they also brought in some guest singers to duet with him on a song each, Josh Pinho from Stray Dogs, and Lee Mackley from Crooked Royals.

There is only one way to play this album, loud with a massive smile on your face, as this is good time music, one where the pit is a sweaty mess with the topless singer whipping everyone into a frenzy. I bumped into Red and Matt at the recent Xile gig, and while not as harsh as that band, there are times when they definitely push in that direction. I have likened them to Blink 182 and Sum 41 in the past, but although there are a few similarities here and there, this is way more powerful as it is far more real. Here are a bunch of guys who are not attempting to be anything except what they are, some commercial punk oiks with balls who somehow manage to throw hooks and commerciality into everything they do. Any review of the album must also make mention of the song titles, which often have little to do with what is being sung, and display their wicked sense of humour, with Incomplete Sentences Are So being a case in point.

This is a great debut, and I can’t wait to see them soon at the launch party on November 5th as that will be a show not to miss. If you enjoy commercial punk with a solid dose of reality then this is for you.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Finger Tight

With a sound that ranges from skate park pop punk, to some good ol' fashioned metalcore, the Finger Tight boys have always struggled to categorize themselves. "Kiwi A Day To Remember" is usually the response, but their unique and broad sound is what ticks so many listener's boxes.

Since the start of their gigging days in 2021, Finger Tight have made waves in the local scene, always selling out gigs and bringing the energy to kickstart those packed out rooms. Kev Rowland (Muzic.net.nz) described them as "pop punk with real balls" and their live shows are known to relentlessly follow through.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Finger Tight

Releases

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • FORTNIGHT
    Taylor Swift feat. Post Malone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem