2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Finger Tight - Album Review: Messages From The End of the World

20 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

In June of last year I made my way to Wine Cellar to see Melanie for the first time, and one of the bands on the bill that night were Finger Tight, and when I reviewed them I said “I was extremely impressed by the end and found it hard to believe this is just their third gig – we are going to be hearing a lot more of these guys.” Since then, I have reviewed some singles, one of which (I Hear It Rains In Seattle) is included on this their debut album which is going to make a lot of people sit up and take notice as this is a punk/pop/emo banger from start to finish. Since I saw them play, they have changed drummers, bringing in Matthew Townshend (who is guitarist in Mariner) to join with Red Rogers (vocals), Glenn Mullins (rhythm guitar and backing vocals), Jacinto de Silva (lead guitar), and Jasher Simmons (bass).

13 songs, 44 minutes, here we have guys who have an innate sense of melody and commerciality yet keep it real with riffing guitars and a powering rhythm section. The drums are an incredibly important part of their overall sound, always driving hard and never content to sit back and let the rest of the guys do the work, constantly changing approach and throwing in fills while the bass is locked in tight to provide the stability for the guitars to go off and bring the crunch. Then at the front we have Red who can be melodic or gruff and abrasive as the need requires. Just for the hell of it they also brought in some guest singers to duet with him on a song each, Josh Pinho from Stray Dogs, and Lee Mackley from Crooked Royals.

There is only one way to play this album, loud with a massive smile on your face, as this is good time music, one where the pit is a sweaty mess with the topless singer whipping everyone into a frenzy. I bumped into Red and Matt at the recent Xile gig, and while not as harsh as that band, there are times when they definitely push in that direction. I have likened them to Blink 182 and Sum 41 in the past, but although there are a few similarities here and there, this is way more powerful as it is far more real. Here are a bunch of guys who are not attempting to be anything except what they are, some commercial punk oiks with balls who somehow manage to throw hooks and commerciality into everything they do. Any review of the album must also make mention of the song titles, which often have little to do with what is being sung, and display their wicked sense of humour, with Incomplete Sentences Are So being a case in point.

This is a great debut, and I can’t wait to see them soon at the launch party on November 5th as that will be a show not to miss. If you enjoy commercial punk with a solid dose of reality then this is for you.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Finger Tight

With a sound that ranges from skate park pop punk, to some good ol' fashioned metalcore, the Finger Tight boys have always struggled to categorize themselves. "Kiwi A Day To Remember" is usually the response, but their unique and broad sound is what ticks so many listener's boxes.

Since the start of their gigging days in 2021, Finger Tight have made waves in the local scene, always selling out gigs and bringing the energy to kickstart those packed out rooms. Kev Rowland (Muzic.net.nz) described them as "pop punk with real balls" and their live shows are known to relentlessly follow through.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Finger Tight

Releases

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem