2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Devils Elbow - EP Review: Riverlands

19 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been quite a while since we last heard from Hawkes Bay trio Devils Elbow, but here they are back with their latest EP Riverlands. One thing which is interesting to note is that only Alec Withers (vocals, guitars, percussion) plays on all four tracks, while the threesome play as such on just one, then they are joined by an additional guitarist on another, while the last two are just Alec and a different keyboard player on each track. This may be just one of the factors which could lead a listener to think there were four quite different bands playing as it is obvious that Alec has broad tastes in music and sees no reason to restrict his output whatsoever.

Top 9 kicks us off in a raucous fashion, and we were only a line or two into the first verse and I had stopped doing what I was doing and was staring at the player, as to say it is reminiscent of Thin Lizzy is an understatement. They were the first rock band I ever really got into some 45 years ago, and although this song did mellow somewhat to be more of a rocker than a hard rocker there were many familiar elements such as the stop/start guitars, the bass playing a major part, and the vocals over everything. I was now paying full attention to the music so was intrigued to hear what the next song would be like, and I was certainly not expecting something which was far more laid back with some country origins. There are some lovely guitar threads here which are pulled together to provide a backdrop to the plaintive vocals, and we have gone from being on a rock stage with lighting rigs to sitting around a campfire at night, quite a surprise. The guitars do come in with some crunch at times, but this is very different indeed.

Possession is full of slide guitar and old organ, sounding as if it has escaped from one of the New Orleans funeral jazz bands combined with a touch of the Caribbean. Apart from the vocals it has virtually nothing in common with the other two songs, and it is really unusual to hear so many different styles at play on an EP. Of course, the only way to finish it was with an instrumental, which starts off incredibly raw, with a lead guitar then coming in over the top in a polished manner which is totally at odds with what is beneath it.

In many ways this is a fascinating release, and I certainly look forward to catching the guys at a gig sometime to hear all these styles in the wild. Well worthy of further investigation.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Devils Elbow

Devils Elbow hail from the sunny Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. Formed in 2007 the bands sound has been described as punk-influenced, alt. country-flavoured, electric-folk, garage rock 'n roll.

"There’s just a lot of class on display here, great work from all band members,
great writing, arrangements and production." - Simon Sweetman, Off The Tracks

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devils Elbow

Releases

Riverlands
Year: 2022
Type: EP
ID
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Golden Flame
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Absolute Domain
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Broken Record Syndrome
Year: 2012
Type: EP
These Days
Year: 2011
Type: EP
KO
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Sand On Chrome
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem