28 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Devils Elbow - EP Review: Riverlands

19 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been quite a while since we last heard from Hawkes Bay trio Devils Elbow, but here they are back with their latest EP Riverlands. One thing which is interesting to note is that only Alec Withers (vocals, guitars, percussion) plays on all four tracks, while the threesome play as such on just one, then they are joined by an additional guitarist on another, while the last two are just Alec and a different keyboard player on each track. This may be just one of the factors which could lead a listener to think there were four quite different bands playing as it is obvious that Alec has broad tastes in music and sees no reason to restrict his output whatsoever.

Top 9 kicks us off in a raucous fashion, and we were only a line or two into the first verse and I had stopped doing what I was doing and was staring at the player, as to say it is reminiscent of Thin Lizzy is an understatement. They were the first rock band I ever really got into some 45 years ago, and although this song did mellow somewhat to be more of a rocker than a hard rocker there were many familiar elements such as the stop/start guitars, the bass playing a major part, and the vocals over everything. I was now paying full attention to the music so was intrigued to hear what the next song would be like, and I was certainly not expecting something which was far more laid back with some country origins. There are some lovely guitar threads here which are pulled together to provide a backdrop to the plaintive vocals, and we have gone from being on a rock stage with lighting rigs to sitting around a campfire at night, quite a surprise. The guitars do come in with some crunch at times, but this is very different indeed.

Possession is full of slide guitar and old organ, sounding as if it has escaped from one of the New Orleans funeral jazz bands combined with a touch of the Caribbean. Apart from the vocals it has virtually nothing in common with the other two songs, and it is really unusual to hear so many different styles at play on an EP. Of course, the only way to finish it was with an instrumental, which starts off incredibly raw, with a lead guitar then coming in over the top in a polished manner which is totally at odds with what is beneath it.

In many ways this is a fascinating release, and I certainly look forward to catching the guys at a gig sometime to hear all these styles in the wild. Well worthy of further investigation.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Devils Elbow

Devils Elbow hail from the sunny Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. Formed in 2007 the bands sound has been described as punk-influenced, alt. country-flavoured, electric-folk, garage rock 'n roll.

"There’s just a lot of class on display here, great work from all band members,
great writing, arrangements and production." - Simon Sweetman, Off The Tracks

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devils Elbow

Releases

Riverlands
Year: 2022
Type: EP
ID
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Golden Flame
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Absolute Domain
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Broken Record Syndrome
Year: 2012
Type: EP
These Days
Year: 2011
Type: EP
KO
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Sand On Chrome
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
The Rising Tide - EP Review: The Hope We Die For
05 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Palmerston North deathcore band The Rising Tide had a great 2022, touring for the first time in six years and here we are now with their latest EP which is being released in time for a quick nationwide tour which sees them playing Auckland, New Plymouth, Wellington, and Christchurch. They may call themselves deathcore, but to be honest they probably have more in common with “straight” death based on these three songs, although there is a lot going on.
Read More...
EP Review: Chasing Titans
28 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP by Auckland-based metalcore trio Chasing Titans who were formed in 2018 and comprise Adrian Govender (guitar, vocals), Sylvester Porizakova (bass, vocals), and Torrance Kam (drums). The name is inspired by the original Greek Titans and reflects the philosophy of never giving up on one’s biggest dreams and striving for greatness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem