2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Seizure Police - EP Review: Volume 1

19 Oct 2022 // A review by Nicholas Clark
When I say that this release is perfect for meditation I intend it as a compliment. It’s difficult to make music this laid back, this thoroughly reliant on delay; this austere.

The first track, Pre-Show, I assumed was perhaps a preamble to a more complex electronic song to come. Weaving in and out of frequencies, a tiny key stab lulls us to a slow BPM, and I am surprised that five minutes has passed when the song ends. Although the song is simple, there are layers of percussion, keys, what sounds like a wooden block, all intermingling for attention. Dub, ambient and minimal electronic music all seem to have influenced The Seizure Police’s vision of how an EP should be introduced.

Rise begins with a NASA vocal sample (included for review is a version of the song without this sample) which brings associations of space travel, strengthened by the inclusion of artwork from the Hubble Telescope of distant galaxies. A beat never fully develops, and I am glad of it. It is an interesting track that simply exists, beautifully outlying a fractured chord, then breaks down on itself like a collapsed star.

The third track E Scape begins a little differently, perhaps more cinematically. A nostalgic and melodramatic chord joins a complex beat, complete with large snare hits and snappy high hats. The track unfolds, and when the percussion leaves, the listener can really hear the complexity of the harmony that has begun to sound like a music-box. There is a charming element here, but the association isn’t space travel but rather memory and nostalgia. I could be wrong, but the subjective nature of instrumental music is both its advantage and disadvantage... We seem at this point to be looking backward.

The final track, the interestingly titled Arrival features some strongly phased samples and a vocal snippet from a child speaking. Descending frequencies taken from what sounds like a bell take us into strange waters indeed. Altogether, it's hard to know whether this is a reference to Stanley Kubrick’s universe baby from ‘Space Odyssey 2001’ or not, but the phasing bells are truly dis-concerting. Again, the passing of time seems to be a prominent feature.

Perhaps it's an odd way to end this space related trip, but after listening through again, I can see the title as reference to waking again from deep meditation. After listening once more with eyes closed, from end to end, I can say now that the order of the songs on this release is probably for the best, as I can’t see Arrival fitting anywhere else but last.

Overall, the EP is satisfying in its simplicity. There are layers there to be discovered that don’t immediately come to the foreground and can be discovered on repeat listens. New Zealand’s Pitch Black may have been an influence on the sound, as well as ambient techno pioneers The Orb. What is impressive here is what is left out. Half the tracks are without a beat, and so the melodies wander but not aimlessly.

Inspiring stuff, worthy of a meditation.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Seizure Police

Another side of Matthew P Schöbs.
British born 20 odd year resident of New Zealand.
Founding member of BareBones and Cabaret & The Flaming Bridges, half of electronic duo Screw-Jack and once know as Matt Yearbook.

Music & Visuals are a great way to create something new. I use lots of open source movies and vintage home movies for my videos and I use life, meditation & medication for my music.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Seizure Police

Releases

The Seizure Police Volume 1
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Nicholas Clark

Bevan Mical - Single Review: Cuts Through The Years
21 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Cuts Through The Years is a jolly, breezy single by multi-instrumentalist, Bevan Mical. The song begins with a two-chord sequence on acoustic guitar, but there's something exotic about the chords are instruments that support the verse.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - EP Review: Seasons of The Soul / Wa O Te Wairua
21 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Seasons of The Soul or Wa O Te Wairua, is a collection of songs by multi-instrumentalist and self-described folk noir artist GiGi Genie. The group is led by songwriter GiGi Crayford and her support band which includes flautists, violinists, zither and percussion players.
Read More...
Ben Horlock - Single Review: Don't Wait On Me
21 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Ben Horlock (Ngati Porou/Te Arawa) is a pop artist from Dunedin who has an ear for a great pop melody, a knack for moody blues guitar lines, and the kind of voice talent scouts are always listening out for. His latest release Don’t Wait on Me features the prominent high hat of modern trap music coming out of Atlanta, an ambient synth lifted from a goth club track, with some deep bass chords to anchor it all together.
Read More...
Hans Pucket - Album Review: No Drama
21 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Wellington four-piece Hans Pucket is the kind of band you really should get into now (if you haven’t already) and see live before they become massive. That is, if the world is fair and allows these musicians to succeed at their art form because they really are incredibly good at what they do - and that’s writing beautiful, clever, unusual songs that seem to be for and inspired by uncertain times.
Read More...
ABRZY - Album Review: 80 Different Ways II
18 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
ABRZY (sometimes referred to as Breezy) is a rapper who has quickly made a name for himself for not only his distinctive, rapid flowing delivery but his unique style that blends influences from Bengali culture. Above all, this release is genuine.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 12/11/2022
14 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
There was a palpable energy in Valhalla on Saturday night; something akin to an orchestra warming up before an opera or athletes preparing for a big game. Before the first act, standing patrons were clamouring for the front line to enjoy three fantastic (and quite different) rock bands.
Read More...
House of Bonnie Presents @ Valhalla, Wellington - 10/11/2022
12 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
While Wellington’s Valhalla can often seem the perfect venue for dark and brutal music with the Viking themed attire, steep black walls, not to mention imposing decals (including some surviving Halloween decorations), the bar was all colour and light on Thursday evening when Sodalight, REID, Happy Two and Burnt Out Graduate came to brighten the corners. The event had been organised by The House of Bonnie; an organiser who regularly puts on pop shows that are often related to Massey University creative art graduates.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Criminal
06 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Curlys Jewels' Criminal begins with one hell of a riff inspired by the glory days of 90’s grunge, but produced with a little more bite giving it a metallic vibe. I instantly thought of Alice in Chains, not only as an influence on the song but also as another band that drew heavily from both genres.
Read More...
View All Articles By Nicholas Clark

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem