2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Demons of Noon - Single Review: Sphere of Peace

18 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Demons of Noon when they opened for the mighty Beastwars at the Powerstation last year, and I came away very impressed indeed by raw sludge-driven doom, and also noted that when they had two female singers come on stage for the last few songs the dynamic changed considerably. Since then, singer Sophie Jackson has left the band and moved to Wellington, and they have just gained a replacement in Tamsyn Matchett but she does not feature on this single, just Aria Jones. I commented on the sheer power of the band when I saw them, and how at times they almost played with black metal, but now I have had chance to listen to this eight-minute track on repeat I realise I had the “black” correct, but I should have been talking about the early Seventies cult band Black Widow.

Here we have a band who are so confident in their doom that they can have multiple bars with no rhythm section whatsoever, adding some Gregorian chant style male vocals to Aria’s fragility, while at others they bring the sludge hard with crunching riffs which are a physical force. There is an awful lot going on in here, multiple sections which means the listener does not realise just how long this is as they are brought along for the ride. Don’t tell anyone, but in many ways, this is truly “progressive” as they are bringing in elements of different genres and making them into a cohesive entity. For all metalheads, play loud.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Demons of Noon

Demons of Noon are a force of nature from Tamaki Makaurau. This cult doom band tunes low and hits like a sledgehammer to the chest.

In the troubled times of late-stage capitalism, their incantatory monkish chants, deep and sludgy riffs, and the ethereal tones of their maidens are the balm that you didn’t know you needed.

After coming out of nowhere with their debut EP The Summoning in 2020, Demons of Noon caught the ears of Poneke heavyweights Beastwars, who delivered them directly to a sold-out crowd at San Fran for a memorable first show. Beastwars were so impressed by this performance that they invited them along to decimate the Powerstation as well.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Demons of Noon

Releases

The Summoning
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem