25 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Troy Kingi - Gig Review: Troy Kingi and The Promises @ Powerstation, Auckland - 14/10/2022

Troy Kingi - Gig Review: Troy Kingi and The Promises @ Powerstation, Auckland - 14/10/2022

17 Oct 2022 // A review by Lou Clement

Available on both vinyl and cassette, Troy Kingi’s (Te Arawa, Ngapuhi, Te Whanau-a-Apanui) new album, Year of The Ratbags and Their Musty Theme Songs, was debuted at the Powerstation, Auckland. It was a fun and fantastic return to live performance for 2022, following the years of COVID cancellations and absences. I was really happy to be there to see this stalwart of new sounds bringing us new found classics as well as a chance to dress up 1980’s. Who isn’t fond of neon, side ponytails and shell suits? We were all in metaphorical top gear for Troy Kingi and the Promises.

The Powerstation was significantly warmed up after support act Matt Nanai took to the stage, dressed in a fur coat and dark glasses reminiscent of Del Boy. A favourite was his new single I Need Somebody, which he performed with promising charisma.

We then cracked open the second half of Kingi’s series of ten albums in ten years with this album launch for the sixth, and an eloquent performance of musical pastiche. In the mainstream, this is the decade of yuppies, yacht rock and heavily-synthed tracks, lots of the inspiration picked up by the artist. Kingi also delivered on the soul influences of the 80’s a genre which his powerful voice sat happily in.

Opening with Elephant in the Room M.Z., we were lulled into the light-hearted, dark edged take on 1980’s optimism. I have seen Kingi play a few times and I always thought he gave sincere and thoughtful performances but also quite serious, which was good because it made me pay attention. But I liked the distracted interlude in this show: Kingi paid homage to one of the classic toys of the time, the Rubik’s Cube, solving it under the spotlight, after having it handed to him by a member of the audience. It’s the sort of trick that’s not wasted on those who were around in the 1980’s, taking many of us back to her our childhood and added to the magic of night.

Kingi played self-professed album track favourite A Little Knowledge Is A Dangerous Thing I.G. and was joined by special guest MACEY, whom he duets on this track with. As well as hearing the new tracks live a few well known favourites were played including the superb Grandma’s Rocket Poem. Kingi remarked ‘I know you all love this’, and we did. There was nothing like getting lost singing your favourite track live with the singer and band. An awesome and entertaining night of performance from all involved.


Photo Credit: Tadashi Jokagi / Joe Photography
Matt Nanai Photo Gallery
Troy Kingi Photo Gallery

 

About Troy Kingi

Troy Kingi (Te Arawa, Ngapuhi, Te Whanau-a-Apanui) is an actor and multi-award-winning, multi-genre musician from Aotearoa, New Zealand.

Described by the New Zealand Herald as “One of our finest Songwriters ”, Kingi rose to fame after the release of his first two multi-award-winning albums Guitar Party at Uncles Bach and Shake That Skinny Ass All the Way to Zygertron, along with memorable major roles in Kiwi films including ‘Hunt For The Wilderpeople’, ‘The Pa Boys’, ‘Mt Zion’ and ‘The Breaker Upperers’.

Since then he has gone on to roles in multiple New Zealand Films, TV Series, and television commercials.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Troy Kingi

Releases

Pu Whenua Hautapu, Eka Mumura
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Black Sea Golden Ladder
Year: 2021
Type: Album
The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Holy Colony Burning Acres
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Guitar Party at Uncle's Bach
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Gig Review: Carb on Carb @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 17/05/2024
19 May 2024 // by Lou Clement
Carb On Carb took to the Wine Cellar stage in Auckland on Friday night to showcase their album Take Time which was released on the same day, 17 May, 2024. As soon as I heard this band I instantly thought they would be amazing live, and I wasn’t wrong.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tess Liautaud @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 4/05/2024
06 May 2024 // by Lou Clement
Otautahi-based singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, Tess Liautaud took to the stage of the Wine Cellar, a basement venue, on Karangahape Road, on an autumnal Saturday evening. Tonight was the Tamaki Makaurau show of her nine-date nationwide Gold Digger tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bach Musica NZ @ Auckland Town Hall - 14/04/2024
15 Apr 2024 // by Lou Clement
The historic setting of Auckland Town Hall, with its long and celebrated history of live music, was the ideal location for Bach Musica NZ. This was the first of a program of performances taking place throughout the year and bringing to the stage some favourite classical music pieces.
Read More...
Festival Review: The Others Way @ Auckland - 01/12/2023
02 Dec 2023 // by Lou Clement
Music venue haven that Karangahape Road is, it’s the perfect location for a festival takeover. Stopping short of closing the main street The Others Way festival seeks to fill every venue, at times simultaneously, with music.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ebony Lamb @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 10/11/2023
12 Nov 2023 // by Lou Clement
Singer songwriter Ebony Lamb treated the tightly packed Auckland, Tamaki Makaurau crowd to a night of new music from her self-titled debut solo album. The gig was part of a seven-date Aotearoa tour which began October 27th, and finished in Paekakariki on Saturday, November 11th.
Read More...
Gig Review: Princess Chelsea @ Neck Of The Woods, Auckland - 19/10/2023
20 Oct 2023 // by Lou Clement
Princess Chelsea began her international Everything Is Going To Be Alright tour, at Neck of the Woods in Auckland with a full house on Thursday 19 October. Bringing her 2022 album of the same title in its entirety to the stage, with her band Jasmine Balmer, Joshua Worthington-Church, David Harris, Joe Kaptein, Kate Tindall, and Simeon Kavanagh-Vincent.
Read More...
Gig Review: Clementine Valentine @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 16/09/2023
16 Sep 2023 // by Lou Clement
Clementine Valentine took to the Whammy stage in Auckland on the fourth and final date of their nationwide album release tour. Their new album entitled The Coin That Broke The Fountain Floor, was released through Flying Nun Records in August 2023.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sofia Machray @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 19/08/2023
21 Aug 2023 // by Lou Clement
Sofia Machray brought her Language of Flowers show, the last of a five-night nationwide tour, to Whammy Bar in Auckland. Machray has recently released her debut 6-track EP and tonight was the premier of her music for Tamaki Makarau.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem