2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Troy Kingi - Gig Review: Troy Kingi and The Promises @ Powerstation, Auckland - 14/10/2022

Troy Kingi - Gig Review: Troy Kingi and The Promises @ Powerstation, Auckland - 14/10/2022

17 Oct 2022 // A review by Lou Clement

Available on both vinyl and cassette, Troy Kingi’s (Te Arawa, Ngapuhi, Te Whanau-a-Apanui) new album, Year of The Ratbags and Their Musty Theme Songs, was debuted at the Powerstation, Auckland. It was a fun and fantastic return to live performance for 2022, following the years of COVID cancellations and absences. I was really happy to be there to see this stalwart of new sounds bringing us new found classics as well as a chance to dress up 1980’s. Who isn’t fond of neon, side ponytails and shell suits? We were all in metaphorical top gear for Troy Kingi and the Promises.

The Powerstation was significantly warmed up after support act Matt Nanai took to the stage, dressed in a fur coat and dark glasses reminiscent of Del Boy. A favourite was his new single I Need Somebody, which he performed with promising charisma.

We then cracked open the second half of Kingi’s series of ten albums in ten years with this album launch for the sixth, and an eloquent performance of musical pastiche. In the mainstream, this is the decade of yuppies, yacht rock and heavily-synthed tracks, lots of the inspiration picked up by the artist. Kingi also delivered on the soul influences of the 80’s a genre which his powerful voice sat happily in.

Opening with Elephant in the Room M.Z., we were lulled into the light-hearted, dark edged take on 1980’s optimism. I have seen Kingi play a few times and I always thought he gave sincere and thoughtful performances but also quite serious, which was good because it made me pay attention. But I liked the distracted interlude in this show: Kingi paid homage to one of the classic toys of the time, the Rubik’s Cube, solving it under the spotlight, after having it handed to him by a member of the audience. It’s the sort of trick that’s not wasted on those who were around in the 1980’s, taking many of us back to her our childhood and added to the magic of night.

Kingi played self-professed album track favourite A Little Knowledge Is A Dangerous Thing I.G. and was joined by special guest MACEY, whom he duets on this track with. As well as hearing the new tracks live a few well known favourites were played including the superb Grandma’s Rocket Poem. Kingi remarked ‘I know you all love this’, and we did. There was nothing like getting lost singing your favourite track live with the singer and band. An awesome and entertaining night of performance from all involved.


Photo Credit: Tadashi Jokagi / Joe Photography
Matt Nanai Photo Gallery
Troy Kingi Photo Gallery

 

About Troy Kingi

Bay of Islands-based musician/actor Troy Kingi has embarked on an eventful few years with major acting roles in Hunt For The Wilderpeople, Pa Boys, Mt Zion and The Kick, while also enjoying a successful music career. Troy Kingi was nominated for an APRA Silver Scroll last year and earned Vodafone Music Awards for Best NZ Soul Artist and Best Maori Artist in 2018. His side project, collaborative soul band L(())VE & HOPE also received rave reviews but Troy's most recent offering is his politically charged roots/reggae record, Holy Colony Burning Acres.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Troy Kingi

Releases

Black Sea Golden Ladder
Year: 2021
Type: Album
The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Holy Colony Burning Acres
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Guitar Party at Uncle's Bach
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Gig Review: Womb w/ Samara Alofa @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 25/11/2022
28 Nov 2022 // by Lou Clement
Underground a bustling K-Road the Wine Cellar played host to Womb on Friday night, a three-piece comprised of siblings, Georgette Brown and twins Haz and Charlotte Forrester. Tonight, they celebrated the release of their new album, Dreaming of The Future Again.
Read More...
Gig Review: Goodnight My Darling w/ Ersha Island @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 10/11/2022
11 Nov 2022 // by Lou Clement
Goodnight My Darling played at Whammy Bar along with Ersha Island last night. Ersha Island are a sister-duo, playing a classic (but not often seen in their genres) accompaniment of violin and piano.
Read More...
Gig Review: No Cigar @ Galatos, Auckland - 5/11/2022
09 Nov 2022 // by Lou Clement
No Cigar played Auckland on the final date of their Bienvenido Album Release Tour. Nestled behind Karangahape Road, the venue, Galatos, was sold out and packed to the brim on an electric Saturday night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid & Jenny Mitchell @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 09/09/2022
11 Sep 2022 // by Lou Clement
Worth the wait might be the short summary of an epic and memorable evening with Nadia Reid with the Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra and support from Jenny Mitchell. Both acts were accompanied by their bands and a packed Auckland Town Hall cheered every song.
Read More...
Flaxxies - EP Review: Beach Rudes
04 Aug 2022 // by Lou Clement
Flaxxies release a four track EP, that heralds Spring with its’ playfulness and optimism. The band are a five piece who blend a number of influences: most obviously surf rock and reggae.
Read More...
Gig Review: NZ Music Month Wrap Party @ Tuning Fork - 31/05/2022
05 Jun 2022 // by Lou Clement
Live music is back with swagger as event numbers grow and crowds swarm for a crucial mark of ‘return to normal’ in Auckland. At the Tuning Fork, sandwiched between the Port and the central city streets, a diverse crowd gathered at this all-ages event, to mark the end of NZ Music month, 2022.
Read More...
REID - Single Review: Savannah
07 Apr 2022 // by Lou Clement
REID is solo artist, based in Wellington, who is making straight-up fun and catchy pop music. Inspired by a desire to simply get people to sing and dance along, REID’s debut single, Savannah, is one of those songs that is the soundtrack to sunny days.
Read More...
TOOMS - Album Review: Fake Teeth
16 Mar 2022 // by Lou Clement
So, a 15 tracker, entitled Fake Teeth, released on limited vinyl, from the excellent duo which are Tooms. They are: Nich Cunningham and Dorian Noval.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem