2 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Into Orbit - Gig Review: Into Orbit @ San Fran, Wellington - 14/10/2022

17 Oct 2022 // A review by Nicholas Clark
A mere two days before Spook the Horses were scheduled to play a much anticipated show at Wellington’s San Fran, it was announced they would not be playing at all. Due to some of the members contracting Covid, the band posted on social media that the gig would be going ahead with fellow Wellingtonians Into Orbit taking their place as the headliner.

Although the support acts of Gravel Pit and End Boss remained, and refunds were offered to those who wanted them, it felt like the gig would be very different without them there (especially considering there was only three acts). Personally, I had been expecting to interview the band also, so this wasn't great news. I contacted Into Orbit to see if they would like to be interviewed instead, but they were too busy for an interview. They explained they had not gigged since January of this year together, and had not performed at San Fran in four years. This was an emergency – the duo posted as much on social media, adding an aesthetic of emergency aid to their messages for extra excitement. The band was coming to save Friday night at San Fran.

I arrived well after eight, thinking I might have missed an act, but the bar was still quiet. It wasn’t until nearly a full hour later that the bar had filled and I heard the unmistakable drum beat of hardcore. Gravel Pit played some fast, gritty punk. Led by female vocalist Bailey Palmer, the band played furiously at full speed. I hadn’t heard of the band before and although their instruments were well mixed, I couldn’t really make out any lyrics – not that it was important for the genre. Despite some technicalities with the guitar rig, the band played a short but energetic set of intense numbers. Ears ringing a bit, I retreated to the balcony for some air.

I was called back to the stage when the next band, End Boss began playing. This band I had seen before and, as expected, the sound was very different. While Gravel Pit were fast and thrashy, End Boss grooved to a stoner, sludge tempo. Atop the crushing guitars (two guitars, no bass), another female vocalist, EJ Thorpe, sang long melodic notes above the avalanche of sound. Not that the band played without passion or speed; drummer Nathan Hickey fired through some intense fills, while guitarists Greg Broadmore and Christian Pierce filled the room with thick, sludgy tones. The band was inspiring to watch. They reminded me of Italian stoner doom band Haunted, (not to be confused with the Swedish heavy metal band, The Haunted) in both their dynamics and sonic textures. An impressive set.

Finally, Into Orbit took the stage. While the setup seemed simple, (no mics, no bass, just a duo) Paul Stewart’s pedal board was an impressive collection that took a considerable amount of stage space and Ian Moir’s drumkit seemed more expansive than the other bands (including at least two large rides and what sounded like a sizzle and a china). The band began slow but built intensity as they continued to play their complex pieces. Both musicians played extremely well, nodding to one another subtly as they travelled through the large open spaces of ambient drone, followed by brutal moments leaning toward polished, precise metal. Odd time signatures, accented phrase and unexpected dynamic changes kept the audience engaged. The music altogether seemed too convoluted for a lyricist anyway.

The guitar tone was thick enough to cover the frequencies of bass or other instrument parts, and the looping riffs allowed Paul to navigate onto parts that required two or more simultaneous guitar parts. Solos were usually slow and melodic, rather than the frenetic ones he performs in Dark Divinity along with Ian. With reverb and sustained notes, the sound built huge structures that were strengthened by Ian’s Byzantine drumming. Listening to them, I was reminded of Tool, Mogwai and, at times, Pelican. The last time I saw the band was when they supported Jakob on the same stage - a perfect fit.

With barely a noticeable pause between songs, and without a single word spoken, the band finished on a crescendo of feedback ushered by Paul’s looped samples, and the audience appreciatively applauded the duo. The night had been saved.


Photo Credit: Nicholas E. Clark
Gravel Pit Gallery
End Boss Gallery
Into Orbit Gallery

 

About Into Orbit

Into Orbit is a Wellington duo of guitar and drums whose immersive, genre-defying sound contains aspects of experimental rock, polished prog, ambience & drone.

In August 2014 Into Orbit released their full-length debut album Caverns.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Into Orbit

Releases

Kinesis
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Unearthing
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Caverns
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Nicholas Clark

Ripship - Album Review: Fearsome Engine
06 Jan 2023 // by Nicholas Clark
This couldn’t be a Ripship review without at least mentioning the immense noise the two-piece band produces. There – I’ve said it; they sure can conjure up some dBs.
Read More...
Adult Friends - Single Review: Brittle
12 Dec 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
In the contemporary music industry, there continues to be a use for genres to categorize products for easier consumption and describe artists for potential customers. True artists, pioneers if you will, often reside at the periphery of the conventions expected of them.
Read More...
Gig Review: Swallow the Rat w/ Ripship @ Valhalla, Wellington - 8/12/2022
10 Dec 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Swallow the Rat and Ripship’s seven date North Island tour had landed in Wellington. Despite the anticipation for the event, including how people attending were talking about the event and online discussions, I entered a rather empty Valhalla bar on Vivian Street a little late for the advertised starting time.
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Candy
08 Dec 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Perhaps it was the introduction from the once great publication of VICE appointing him ‘one of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop’ or perhaps it was Zane Lowe naming him one of New Zealand’s finest rappers, but my expectations were high going in to this review. Previously I had known Hans.
Read More...
Alisa Xayalith - EP Review: Superpowers
08 Dec 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Alisa Xayalith is one half of New Zealand’s most successful synth-pop acts of the 2010’s; The Naked and Famous. With Thom Powers, they dominated the early part of the decade with wonderfully produced, catchy and clever pop songs you could dance in a club or a bedroom to.
Read More...
Substax - Single Review: Words
07 Dec 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Substax's Words starts off with a fairly typical, hypnotic 180 bpm big club beat. Some of the sounds seem a little retro here, almost straight off an 80’s synth patch for percussion.
Read More...
Bevan Mical - Single Review: Cuts Through The Years
21 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Cuts Through The Years is a jolly, breezy single by multi-instrumentalist, Bevan Mical. The song begins with a two-chord sequence on acoustic guitar, but there's something exotic about the chords are instruments that support the verse.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - EP Review: Seasons of The Soul / Wa O Te Wairua
21 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Seasons of The Soul or Wa O Te Wairua, is a collection of songs by multi-instrumentalist and self-described folk noir artist GiGi Genie. The group is led by songwriter GiGi Crayford and her support band which includes flautists, violinists, zither and percussion players.
Read More...
View All Articles By Nicholas Clark

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem