2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mel Parsons - Gig Review: Mel Parsons @ Hollywood Avondale, Auckland - 15/10/2022

16 Oct 2022 // A review by Roger Bowie

I’m slow on the lesson, I’m slow on the learn, getting into Mel Parsons has been a slow burn. Painting the fence got me started last November before her solo gig at Tuning Fork. There we got the promise of the new album and a tour with her band. Stepping up as we go. The album, as I have written, warrants five big stars. And now, finally Mel Parsons and her band are live on stage at the Hollywood Avondale, a magnificent venue arising from phoenix ashes, with acoustics to die for.

Where is everybody?

A modest but enthusiastic audience is all the lady needs to step up and launch into a most ironic song, because Failure is everything she is not, and it’s also the best seller off the album so far. It only takes two songs for the Lights to go on as we realise we are in for immaculate renditions of immaculate songs. Songs and renditions which deserve a full house, but Auckland has gone to sleep tonight. It’s a shame, but those of us who are here feel strangely special and privileged and that’s the way it shall stay.

All but one song from Slow Burn, a deep dive into Drylands and a sampling from Glass Heart comprise the 19 song set delivered in two parts. Oh, and a new song, opening the second set, a rare reference to things private and a reveal that there are four, not three tiny souls at home living Tiny Days. Makes a tour seem like a holiday.

Mel Parsons writes and sings and doesn’t explain. She doesn’t need to. We can work it out. Except when she goes back to toxic days and advises us Don’t Wait, don’t waste our time on blue, tonight with Cousin Jed on harmony during the few songs she is alone on stage. But that was then, this is now, and be in no doubt, despite a Slow Burn, Mel has never had joy like this before. And it shows, in her smile, in her light-hearted banter, in her Beyonce inspired half-time change of attire, in her very essence. Mel Parsons is in a state of grace, and we are the beneficiaries.

A state of grace, except when it’s not. Except when the band kicks in, and out and cuts loose. When there’s a spark which we can’t deny. With producer Josh Logan on eclectic electric and melodic and sometimes moody, jazzy piano (Headland) and a rhythm section comprising two established recording artists in Thomas Isbister on bass and aforementioned Jed Parsons on drums, this unit is tight and hot, and Mel moves from Lucinda Williams to Ryan Adams and just rocks and the Hollywood becomes a stadium.

Which sings along to Far, Far Away and roars in delight in the Darkness before the false ending and the obligatory return to a stripped back Just Because You Don’t Want Me which is rubbish because we do! And then the band are back on for a rousing Tired of Being You which is all Courtney Barnett, or maybe it’s the other way round, but it’s also not true because we are certainly not going to get tired of Mel Parsons being Mel.

Rikki Morris comes out of hibernation to man the sound deck and it shows. Immaculate songs played immaculately, creating immaculate, absolute sound.

Mel Parsons and her band are world class. Where the fuck are you, Auckland?

Set List:

1. Failure

2. Lights    

3. Slow Burn 

4. I Got the Lonely

5. Still Got Time

6. Non Communicado

7. Carry On

8. Going Under

9. Get Out Alive

10. Tiny Days

11. Don’t Wait

12. Driving Man

13. Headland

14. Come Over Lover

15. Already Gone

16. Far Far Away

17. Darkness

18. Just Because You Don’t Want Me

19. Tired of Being You


Photo Credit: Chris Zwaagdyk / ZED Pics
View the full gallery here

 

About Mel Parsons

Well recognised as one of New Zealand’s established songwriting stars, indie-folk singer songwriter Mel Parsons’ star is on the rise. Following the success of both her debut album Over My Shoulder in 2009, and sophomore offering Red Grey Blue in 2011, Parsons released her third full length record Drylands in 2015.

The Kiwi singer/songwriter and two time NZ Music Award (VNZMA) finalist for Folk Album of the Year, has released the first single from Drylands – the gutsy & rhythmic audience favourite originally performed with Fly My Pretties, Far Away. With a dynamite live show, solo or with her band, Parsons is an engaging performer with a natural emotive voice that allows the listener to become part of the story.

With home as a hotel room and a suitcase, Parsons has built up her fan base the old fashioned way – winning over audiences on the live circuit. The only New Zealand artist invited to showcase at Folk Alliance International in Kansas City, USA in 2014 & 2015, Parsons has also had recent tours in Australia, UK, Ireland, and Germany. She is also a cast member of Kiwi musical collective Fly My Pretties, with tours and festival performances including the prestigious Byron Bay Bluesfest at Easter 2015.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mel Parsons

Releases

Slow Burn
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Drylands
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Red Grey Blue
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Over My Shoulder
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Roger Bowie

Anthea de Milo - Album Review: The Vicar's Daughter
27 Nov 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Out of a cavernous ballroom in Kurow comes the soulful mourning of Anthea de Milo with an old classic, just written, Just in Case. Anthea de Milo?
Read More...
Come Together: The Beatles @ Kiri Te Kanawa Theatre, Auckland - 12/11/2022
13 Nov 2022 // by Roger Bowie
The Beatles wrote much of their ninth album, their first double, on a Transcendental Meditation course in India with Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, in early 1968. They called it simply “The Beatles”, but, in contrast to the previous album cover for Sergeant Pepper, extreme in colour and pageantry, this album was just…….
Read More...
Adam Hattaway & The Haunters - Gig Review: Adam Hattaway and the Haunters @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 04/11/2022
07 Nov 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Rick Topp opened for Adam Hattaway and the Haunters on Friday night three hours before pumpkin time. You know Rick Topp, you might not think so, but you do.
Read More...
Adam Hattaway & The Haunters - Album Review: Bug Eyes
03 Nov 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Have you ever looked a bug in the eye? It’s scary stuff.
Read More...
Gig Review: Come Together - Tom Petty @ Kiri Te Kanawa Theatre, Auckland - 30/10/2022
31 Oct 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Tom Petty hit us like a bullet train in 1976. It was London, and prog rock was being challenged by punk.
Read More...
Thrashing Marlin - Album Review: Wildlife
28 Oct 2022 // by Roger Bowie
I wasn’t sure about anything, let alone a band, called Thrashing Marlin]. Are they beating a marlin with a rod or are they invoking a marlin trying to shake off a hook?
Read More...
Gig Review: Aldous Harding @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2022
28 Oct 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Ah, Aldous, it’s been three years since you filled the PowerStation twice and etched your name and face in our annals. Three long years, only relieved by a cameo at the Flying Nun birthday party last year.
Read More...
Miller Yule - Album Review: Let It Burn
29 Sep 2022 // by Roger Bowie
You can tell by the name, can’t you, you can just tell. I mean, Dwight Yoakam couldn’t be anything but a country singer, could he?
Read More...
View All Articles By Roger Bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem