15 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mel Parsons - Gig Review: Mel Parsons @ Hollywood Avondale, Auckland - 15/10/2022

16 Oct 2022 // A review by roger.bowie

I’m slow on the lesson, I’m slow on the learn, getting into Mel Parsons has been a slow burn. Painting the fence got me started last November before her solo gig at Tuning Fork. There we got the promise of the new album and a tour with her band. Stepping up as we go. The album, as I have written, warrants five big stars. And now, finally Mel Parsons and her band are live on stage at the Hollywood Avondale, a magnificent venue arising from phoenix ashes, with acoustics to die for.

Where is everybody?

A modest but enthusiastic audience is all the lady needs to step up and launch into a most ironic song, because Failure is everything she is not, and it’s also the best seller off the album so far. It only takes two songs for the Lights to go on as we realise we are in for immaculate renditions of immaculate songs. Songs and renditions which deserve a full house, but Auckland has gone to sleep tonight. It’s a shame, but those of us who are here feel strangely special and privileged and that’s the way it shall stay.

All but one song from Slow Burn, a deep dive into Drylands and a sampling from Glass Heart comprise the 19 song set delivered in two parts. Oh, and a new song, opening the second set, a rare reference to things private and a reveal that there are four, not three tiny souls at home living Tiny Days. Makes a tour seem like a holiday.

Mel Parsons writes and sings and doesn’t explain. She doesn’t need to. We can work it out. Except when she goes back to toxic days and advises us Don’t Wait, don’t waste our time on blue, tonight with Cousin Jed on harmony during the few songs she is alone on stage. But that was then, this is now, and be in no doubt, despite a Slow Burn, Mel has never had joy like this before. And it shows, in her smile, in her light-hearted banter, in her Beyonce inspired half-time change of attire, in her very essence. Mel Parsons is in a state of grace, and we are the beneficiaries.

A state of grace, except when it’s not. Except when the band kicks in, and out and cuts loose. When there’s a spark which we can’t deny. With producer Josh Logan on eclectic electric and melodic and sometimes moody, jazzy piano (Headland) and a rhythm section comprising two established recording artists in Thomas Isbister on bass and aforementioned Jed Parsons on drums, this unit is tight and hot, and Mel moves from Lucinda Williams to Ryan Adams and just rocks and the Hollywood becomes a stadium.

Which sings along to Far, Far Away and roars in delight in the Darkness before the false ending and the obligatory return to a stripped back Just Because You Don’t Want Me which is rubbish because we do! And then the band are back on for a rousing Tired of Being You which is all Courtney Barnett, or maybe it’s the other way round, but it’s also not true because we are certainly not going to get tired of Mel Parsons being Mel.

Rikki Morris comes out of hibernation to man the sound deck and it shows. Immaculate songs played immaculately, creating immaculate, absolute sound.

Mel Parsons and her band are world class. Where the fuck are you, Auckland?

Set List:

1. Failure

2. Lights    

3. Slow Burn 

4. I Got the Lonely

5. Still Got Time

6. Non Communicado

7. Carry On

8. Going Under

9. Get Out Alive

10. Tiny Days

11. Don’t Wait

12. Driving Man

13. Headland

14. Come Over Lover

15. Already Gone

16. Far Far Away

17. Darkness

18. Just Because You Don’t Want Me

19. Tired of Being You


Photo Credit: Chris Zwaagdyk / ZED Pics
View the full gallery here

 

About Mel Parsons

Well recognised as one of New Zealand’s established songwriting stars, indie-folk singer songwriter Mel Parsons’ star is on the rise. Following the success of both her debut album Over My Shoulder in 2009, and sophomore offering Red Grey Blue in 2011, Parsons released her third full length record Drylands in 2015.

The Kiwi singer/songwriter and two time NZ Music Award (VNZMA) finalist for Folk Album of the Year, has released the first single from Drylands – the gutsy & rhythmic audience favourite originally performed with Fly My Pretties, Far Away. With a dynamite live show, solo or with her band, Parsons is an engaging performer with a natural emotive voice that allows the listener to become part of the story.

With home as a hotel room and a suitcase, Parsons has built up her fan base the old fashioned way – winning over audiences on the live circuit. The only New Zealand artist invited to showcase at Folk Alliance International in Kansas City, USA in 2014 & 2015, Parsons has also had recent tours in Australia, UK, Ireland, and Germany. She is also a cast member of Kiwi musical collective Fly My Pretties, with tours and festival performances including the prestigious Byron Bay Bluesfest at Easter 2015.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mel Parsons

Releases

Sabotage
Year: 2024
Type: Album
Slow Burn
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Drylands
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Red Grey Blue
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Over My Shoulder
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By roger.bowie

Album Review: Subset BC
16 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Here’s an interesting little thing from Gisborne. A funky little band with three bass players.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Best of Come Together @ The Civic Theatre, Auckland - 9/12/2023
12 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Get your heads around this line-up:  The singers: Jon Toogood, (lead and backing vocals), Julia Deans (lead and backing vocals), Dianne Swann (lead and backing vocals and occasional guitar), Samuel Flynn Scott (vocals and guitar), James Milne (lead and backing vocals), Milan Borich (Mick vocals) The players: Jol Mulholland (guitars and vocals), Brett Adams (lead guitar and vocals), Mike Hall (bass), Matthias Jordan (keyboards), Alastair Deverick (drums), Finn Scholes (trumpet, clarinet and percussion), Nick Atkinson (sax and percussion).  Stopped spinning?
Read More...
A Crude Mechanical - Album Review: Discourse
08 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Shane Warbrooke doesn’t believe in lyrics, because of the risk of lyrics being hi-jacked and meanings bent to suit ideologies which he doesn’t like. Well, such ideologies which most of us don’t like, truth be known, but then again, Beethoven didn’t write lyrics, so the freedom of speech counter argument only goes so far.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Phoenix Foundation @ Hollywood Avondale, Auckland - 24/11/2023
26 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
This is a first of many things. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen The Phoenix Foundation play live.
Read More...
Velvet Arrow - Album Review: Songs of Solitude
17 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
A Song Of Hope & Fear would normally be a contradiction in terms unless darkness prevails and light shines through, which is an appropriate metaphor for the debut album from Whangarei’s Velvet Arrow and the opening song, with Dan Stenhouse’s husky voice helping us through the night against a ghostly horror wail from Hannah Jane. After all it’s just a song to help you through the night, just the words that speak, it’s not real.
Read More...
Gig Review: Atomic: Women of Rock @ The Civic, Auckland - 11/11/2023
13 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
What a feast of nostalgia we’ve had from Liberty Stage (Simone Williams) these past few years, as New Zealand’s finest have Come Together to cover the classic albums which made the soundtracks of our youth. In addition to this, there have also been special tributes like Tami Neilson’s rock ‘n roll party with Dinah Lee, just last month.
Read More...
Dimmer - Album Review: Live At The Hollywood
09 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
Wow, not very often that we see alive album these days, an unusual beast, but that’s we have, a 14-track monster from Dimmer, recorded from last year’s sold-out trilogy at the Hollywood Avondale. Which, if you didn’t get to go last year, you can still see on December 2nd at the Powerstation, unless, like me, you are going instead to The War on Drugs.
Read More...
Killergrams - EP Review: Lonely Nights In A Little Town
27 Oct 2023 // by roger.bowie
Someone walked out, and Tom Maxwell has lost his mind, in a gentle, acoustic way. Then his mind explodes in a cacophony of chaos, which might just be what it feels like, losing something that important.
Read More...
View All Articles By roger.bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem