2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lorenzo Vichi - EP Review: Anima

14 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

This 13-minute-long 3-track instrumental album is by Lorenzo Vichi, an Italian who now lives in Aotearoa. Everything we hear on the EP was written, arranged, recorded, mixed, produced and edited by Lorenzo who decided to record and produce this EP by himself to demonstrate that it is possible to make music without the need for expensive equipment. There is no doubt that Lorenzo is a metalhead, and even when he tries to bring it down, as on middle track Spike Above The Clouds, he is still coming at it from the metal area. The most prevalent genres are mathcore and djent, but there are also elements of prog metal in here as well, with a few keyboards helping to lighten the overall attack.

There is no doubt whatsoever that Lorenzo is an extremely accomplished guitarist, and this medium has allowed him to demonstrate his skill, so it is an incredibly technical EP. But at the end of the day, it must be musical as well and excite the listener, so they stay to the end and there is no issue whatsoever with that as his approach is fascinating. I can’t think of any other shredder who approaches the music quite like this as throughout there is the feeling that this is an instrumental band as opposed to a solo musician. If someone had told me these were rare tracks from Dragonforce I may have believed them, but there again he brings in Meshuggah-style riffs which makes this very heavy indeed.

This never sounds like the work of a single musician, as he has undertaken a lot of work to make this seem like a band, and I not sure how he reproduces this live but if he does then he should tie in with Black Sands as that would be a billing definitely worth checking out. This EP is for metalheads who like their music to be both instrumental and complex and is well worthy of discovery.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lorenzo Vichi

Lorenzo Vichi is a guitar player from Pesaro, Italy, currently living in New Zealand. He started playing guitar at the age of 12 and since then, he never stopped making music, with bands and by himself. His passion for creating original music lead him into music recording.

Back in 2017 he started my official solo project "Lorenzo Vichi", teaching himself mixing and social media management along the way as he connected with music communities on Instagram and Facebook. He make fast-paced, hard-hitting metal riffs alongside chill and mellow electronic beats. He put my genre-varied listening and self-taught guitar skills to use when playing and creating music!


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lorenzo Vichi

Releases

Anima
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem