1 Dec 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lorenzo Vichi - EP Review: Anima

14 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

This 13-minute-long 3-track instrumental album is by Lorenzo Vichi, an Italian who now lives in Aotearoa. Everything we hear on the EP was written, arranged, recorded, mixed, produced and edited by Lorenzo who decided to record and produce this EP by himself to demonstrate that it is possible to make music without the need for expensive equipment. There is no doubt that Lorenzo is a metalhead, and even when he tries to bring it down, as on middle track Spike Above The Clouds, he is still coming at it from the metal area. The most prevalent genres are mathcore and djent, but there are also elements of prog metal in here as well, with a few keyboards helping to lighten the overall attack.

There is no doubt whatsoever that Lorenzo is an extremely accomplished guitarist, and this medium has allowed him to demonstrate his skill, so it is an incredibly technical EP. But at the end of the day, it must be musical as well and excite the listener, so they stay to the end and there is no issue whatsoever with that as his approach is fascinating. I can’t think of any other shredder who approaches the music quite like this as throughout there is the feeling that this is an instrumental band as opposed to a solo musician. If someone had told me these were rare tracks from Dragonforce I may have believed them, but there again he brings in Meshuggah-style riffs which makes this very heavy indeed.

This never sounds like the work of a single musician, as he has undertaken a lot of work to make this seem like a band, and I not sure how he reproduces this live but if he does then he should tie in with Black Sands as that would be a billing definitely worth checking out. This EP is for metalheads who like their music to be both instrumental and complex and is well worthy of discovery.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lorenzo Vichi

Lorenzo Vichi is a guitar player from Pesaro, Italy, currently living in New Zealand. He started playing guitar at the age of 12 and since then, he never stopped making music, with bands and by himself. His passion for creating original music lead him into music recording.

Back in 2017 he started my official solo project "Lorenzo Vichi", teaching himself mixing and social media management along the way as he connected with music communities on Instagram and Facebook. He make fast-paced, hard-hitting metal riffs alongside chill and mellow electronic beats. He put my genre-varied listening and self-taught guitar skills to use when playing and creating music!


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lorenzo Vichi

Releases

Anima
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • WATER
    Tyla
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • PAINT THE TOWN RED
    Doja Cat
  • AGORA HILLS
    Doja Cat
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • STRANGERS
    Kenya Grace
  • BLUE EYED M?ORI
    Corrella
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • MY LOVE MINE ALL MINE
    Mitski
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem