1 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lorenzo Vichi - EP Review: Anima

14 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

This 13-minute-long 3-track instrumental album is by Lorenzo Vichi, an Italian who now lives in Aotearoa. Everything we hear on the EP was written, arranged, recorded, mixed, produced and edited by Lorenzo who decided to record and produce this EP by himself to demonstrate that it is possible to make music without the need for expensive equipment. There is no doubt that Lorenzo is a metalhead, and even when he tries to bring it down, as on middle track Spike Above The Clouds, he is still coming at it from the metal area. The most prevalent genres are mathcore and djent, but there are also elements of prog metal in here as well, with a few keyboards helping to lighten the overall attack.

There is no doubt whatsoever that Lorenzo is an extremely accomplished guitarist, and this medium has allowed him to demonstrate his skill, so it is an incredibly technical EP. But at the end of the day, it must be musical as well and excite the listener, so they stay to the end and there is no issue whatsoever with that as his approach is fascinating. I can’t think of any other shredder who approaches the music quite like this as throughout there is the feeling that this is an instrumental band as opposed to a solo musician. If someone had told me these were rare tracks from Dragonforce I may have believed them, but there again he brings in Meshuggah-style riffs which makes this very heavy indeed.

This never sounds like the work of a single musician, as he has undertaken a lot of work to make this seem like a band, and I not sure how he reproduces this live but if he does then he should tie in with Black Sands as that would be a billing definitely worth checking out. This EP is for metalheads who like their music to be both instrumental and complex and is well worthy of discovery.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lorenzo Vichi

Lorenzo Vichi is a guitar player from Pesaro, Italy, currently living in New Zealand. He started playing guitar at the age of 12 and since then, he never stopped making music, with bands and by himself. His passion for creating original music lead him into music recording.

Back in 2017 he started my official solo project "Lorenzo Vichi", teaching himself mixing and social media management along the way as he connected with music communities on Instagram and Facebook. He make fast-paced, hard-hitting metal riffs alongside chill and mellow electronic beats. He put my genre-varied listening and self-taught guitar skills to use when playing and creating music!


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lorenzo Vichi

Releases

Anima
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem