23 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan

14 Oct 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental. Now based on the wild West Coast of Auckland, having moved here in 2007. Scalper is Hip-Hop like you’ve never heard it before. Moody, gritty beats with introspective lyrics that conjure visions of epic proportions, and an electrifying live performance that demands attention.

On the new single I'm Life, he keeps to his roots. At first, the way the woodwind instruments swirl around, with creepy sounding strings and a super effective bass line, it creates an atmosphere combined with the slow tempo hip hop loop, everything feels thought out and well executed. The vocal delivery is more spoken word than rap, but that is because Scalper is wanting you to pay attention to the lyric, through his pronunciation that is methodical. As Scalper states, "This track is about Life itself speaking to oneself...A lament of the beauty and tragedy of being in life...it's a fleeting visit so if one can and is able to then shine bright in one's life and in its light."

With a prayer like chant that shows up from time to time, the track never sways from its vision. It takes the idea and fleshes it out.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Scalper

Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental. Now based on the wild West Coast of Auckland, having moved here in 2007. Scalper is Hip-Hop like you’ve never heard it before. Moody, gritty beats with introspective lyrics that conjure visions of epic proportions, and an electrifying live performance that demands attention.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scalper

Releases

The Shine
Year: 2023
Type: Album
The Beast and The Beauty
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Want More
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Want
Year: 2017
Type: EP
The Emperor's Clothes
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Butchers Bakers
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Flesh & Bones
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

SKILAA - Album Review: Tiger In The River
04 Jul 2024 // by Ben Ruegg
SKILAA’s sound is a unique blend of RnB, alternative, progressive folk, and hip-hop. The band began writing together in late 2017 after meeting through Auckland University’s Jazz programme.
Read More...
Aotearoa Music Awards 2024
02 Jun 2024 // by Ben Ruegg
Thursday 30 May, 2024 was a wonderful night for our music industry. The Aotearoa Music Awards were being held for the first time at the Viaduct Event Centre, and for the first time in two years.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Album Review: Between The Brave, Bold and Given Up
30 May 2024 // by Ben Ruegg
The opening track of Dan Sharp's album named Between The Brave, Bold and Given Up sounds familiar in a good way. It's like coming home after a long day, with cold weather and rain, but opening a door to warmth and comfort.
Read More...
Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg
SELECT artists.ID as artist_id, artists.Name, sum(artists_stats.Count) as hitcount FROM artists, artists_stats WHERE artists_stats.Date > ('2024-07-23' - INTERVAL 14 DAY)-0 AND artists.ID = artists_stats.AID AND artists.Enabled = 'y' AND artists.Deleted = 'n' GROUP BY artists_stats.AID ORDER BY hitcount DESC, Name LIMIT 10

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem