28 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Xile - Album Review: I Am Your God

09 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Last weekend I was at Whammy Bar in Auckland to see the album release show for Xile’s I Am Your God. Thanks to a certain pandemic this album almost slipped out with people not realising, as it was released in May 2020 back when everyone in NZ was in lockdown. The guys never had the opportunity to tour it at the time, something they have rectified in 2022 with a nationwide tour, bringing the brutality to the masses. But back then the band had been through major changes and had been reduced to singer Luke Manson, who composed all the material and also provided guitars, and bassist Lee Waddingham while Thy Art drummer Lee Stanton was a guest.

This is one nasty album, showing that Slayer in particular have had a major impact on their overall sound, being way more metallic than most hardcore bands. There is incredible depth to this, built around death-style double kick drums, guitars and bass locked in tight, and then hardcore gruff vocals over the top. One can certainly imagine fans of Cannibal Corpse getting a lot from this, as it is relentless and punishing throughout. If ever an album was designed to get the mosh going, then this is it, with the ten tracks blasting past in just 25 minutes. It certainly never sounds like a duo, as this is a powering monster which is brutal, and playing this, I can visualize what I experienced last week when the audience were a sweaty mess and the mosh was full on.

This is so savage it is almost primeval, with the production deliberately kept raw so one can feel the edge, and Luke putting his very being on the line. It feels incredibly personal, with Luke giving it his all on the vocals and Lee W and Lee S creating the platform for the guitars. There is a great deal going on in here, with death metal mixing with breakdown, taking hardcore in a very different direction from many others in the scene, while some of the twin guitar licks are quite black metal in nature. They are taking the more brutal elements from different genres and then combining them in a way which ensures everything is pushed to the max, to the extreme. Now the pandemic is over, and Xile have become a fully-fledged supergroup, let’s hope the new line-up get into the studio soon and record the next savage chapter as this is one heck of a debut and I am sure they are only going to get more ferocious as they keep touring.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Xile

Xile are a heavy hardcore band from Grafton, New Zealand. While holding fast to a style reminiscent of their country’s most aggressive hardcore bands (The Burial, Promise of Bloodshed, Antagonist A.D.), the 5 piece blend in flavours of European beatdown (Nasty, Malevolence, Desolated) to create their own guttural, yet polished, sound.

The vocal message is clear, from religious discontent to the violent state of our modern world, mixed in with darker lyrics of Slayer-influenced murderous escapades.

The music behind the lyrics is aggressive and relentless. There is no shortage of riffage here – technicality is matched with half-time simplicity by vocalist Luke and guitarist Simon the bands primary songwriters. The death-metal background of drummer Jai is also evident, with his technical prowess holding down the rhythm section through the entire release.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Xile

Releases

I Am Your God
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Grafton EP
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
The Rising Tide - EP Review: The Hope We Die For
05 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Palmerston North deathcore band The Rising Tide had a great 2022, touring for the first time in six years and here we are now with their latest EP which is being released in time for a quick nationwide tour which sees them playing Auckland, New Plymouth, Wellington, and Christchurch. They may call themselves deathcore, but to be honest they probably have more in common with “straight” death based on these three songs, although there is a lot going on.
Read More...
EP Review: Chasing Titans
28 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP by Auckland-based metalcore trio Chasing Titans who were formed in 2018 and comprise Adrian Govender (guitar, vocals), Sylvester Porizakova (bass, vocals), and Torrance Kam (drums). The name is inspired by the original Greek Titans and reflects the philosophy of never giving up on one’s biggest dreams and striving for greatness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem