22 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Xile - Album Review: I Am Your God

09 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Last weekend I was at Whammy Bar in Auckland to see the album release show for Xile’s I Am Your God. Thanks to a certain pandemic this album almost slipped out with people not realising, as it was released in May 2020 back when everyone in NZ was in lockdown. The guys never had the opportunity to tour it at the time, something they have rectified in 2022 with a nationwide tour, bringing the brutality to the masses. But back then the band had been through major changes and had been reduced to singer Luke Manson, who composed all the material and also provided guitars, and bassist Lee Waddingham while Thy Art drummer Lee Stanton was a guest.

This is one nasty album, showing that Slayer in particular have had a major impact on their overall sound, being way more metallic than most hardcore bands. There is incredible depth to this, built around death-style double kick drums, guitars and bass locked in tight, and then hardcore gruff vocals over the top. One can certainly imagine fans of Cannibal Corpse getting a lot from this, as it is relentless and punishing throughout. If ever an album was designed to get the mosh going, then this is it, with the ten tracks blasting past in just 25 minutes. It certainly never sounds like a duo, as this is a powering monster which is brutal, and playing this, I can visualize what I experienced last week when the audience were a sweaty mess and the mosh was full on.

This is so savage it is almost primeval, with the production deliberately kept raw so one can feel the edge, and Luke putting his very being on the line. It feels incredibly personal, with Luke giving it his all on the vocals and Lee W and Lee S creating the platform for the guitars. There is a great deal going on in here, with death metal mixing with breakdown, taking hardcore in a very different direction from many others in the scene, while some of the twin guitar licks are quite black metal in nature. They are taking the more brutal elements from different genres and then combining them in a way which ensures everything is pushed to the max, to the extreme. Now the pandemic is over, and Xile have become a fully-fledged supergroup, let’s hope the new line-up get into the studio soon and record the next savage chapter as this is one heck of a debut and I am sure they are only going to get more ferocious as they keep touring.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Xile

Kiwi Hardstyle, Metallic Hardcore from Grafton City, Auckland.

Xile blend in the flavors of European Beatdown and Death Metal to create their own brutal, yet polished sound to create a Hardstyle of their own.

Releasing their debut album I Am Your God in March 2020 amidst the global pandemic the band wouldn't play the IAYG release shows until late 2022.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Xile

Releases

I Am Your God
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Grafton EP
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem