1 Mar 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Glasshouse Keepers - EP Review: Scratching The Surface

06 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I was at a gig last week, and was really intrigued by the opening act, Glasshouse Keepers, very much enjoying their complex rock sound with female lead vocals, so when I realised they had released a four-track EP called Scratching The Surface earlier this year I knew I had to check it out. The band comprise Danielle Hawkins (vocals), Brian McDonald (lead guitar and screams), Linton Graetz (rhythm guitar and backing vocals), Giacobe Otty (bass) and Kevin Jaspers (drums), and they are an alternative rock band who have a great deal of complexity within the arrangement and then over the top there are Danielle’s vocals which are quite sweet and innocent in comparison. Having seen them play, I know just how much Danielle gets into the music, and while her vocals are obviously a focal point, I was intrigued with just how much work goes into the underlying arrangements. When a rock band is blasting out on stage it is quite possible for some of the niceties to be lost, but in the recorded version there is more opportunity to study what is going on and in GHK there is a lot.

Kevin never stops driving the band forward, as he is all over the place, settling back when the time is right and being far more dynamic at others – this really stands out in Better Late where there are times, he is not playing at all, others where it is just cymbals, providing a lengthy drum roll here, or just hitting hard at others. With Kevin providing so much variety it allows Giacobe to sit in with him or move more into the melody of the guitars, where Linton and Brian have very contrasting styles indeed with one riffing hard and the other moving in and out of noodling so there are elements of U2 and Simple Minds at times, with a sound which is very big indeed. Then there is Danielle whose voice and style takes the music in another direction altogether so that although what is happening in the accompaniment is massively complex, her sound is sweet and naïve, and she has the confidence to hold long notes and somehow all these elements combine to create something which is both commercial and full of depth. The four songs are all very different, yet they are all intriguing, and while immediate I discovered the more I listened to them the more I gained from it.

It will be interesting to watch these guys grow, but this is a solid debut EP and is well worthy of investigation. They call themselves alt rock/emo on Bandcamp, and they are taking those styles and pumping their songs full of hooks. Nice.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Glasshouse Keepers

Emerging in the New Zealand music scene is alternative rock band Glasshouse Keepers.

Their melodic intricacy is balanced with an explosiveness that delivers emotion. The direct yet thought-provoking lyrics will cement this band's place in your heart.

Their 2022 debut EP Scratching the Surface is a frank reflection on an ending relationship, and features the single Carbon Copy.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Glasshouse Keepers

Releases

Scratching the Surface
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem