24 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Immolated Volume 3 @ Valhalla, Wellington - 30/09/2022

03 Oct 2022 // A review by Nicholas Clark
In the murky surroundings of Vivian Street I followed the sounds and smells to Immolated Volume 3 at Valhalla. Initially I was confused about the entrance to the gig, but soon found my way before the stage where bands were still being set up. It looked like the event was going to be a little later than expected but also bigger. Behind me, more people in black clothing were arriving. However, it must be said, the clothing varied more so than on other nights at Valhalla where the acts are all metal of the purely thrash or black variety... There were a few examples of ska fashion occurring, including dreadlocks, beanies, cheese-cutters and a few examples of early 2000’s nu-metal piercings. This was no doubt due to the line-up including a bonafide ska band, Dimestore Skanks and a System of a Down tribute band, named in honour of one of their most infamous releases in response to the Napster music sharing phenomenon of the mid 2000's. (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you are missing out on an album just as cool as Toxicity and drummer John Dolmayan’s favourite from his own band.)


I bought a beer (Super Charger APA) and began a conversation with a fellow photographer as the bar filled with people, and before long we were treated to the melodic and delay drenched layers of Pull Down The Sun from Whanganui. Their set began with the beautiful and haunting sounds of the koauau which segued beautifully into their textured approach. When they finally did bring out the distortion, bending strings out of recognition and back again in a swaying rhythm, they had the room’s attention.

Like the entrance to the gig, I was confused as I was sure they were going to be playing later, and from what I had heard of them I was interested in their uniquely New Zealand inspiration. Their album, Of Valleys and Mountains, doesn’t look like a classical metal album cover and indeed their music is equal parts pleasant as it is heavy. When vocals came, they were truly brutal and fitted perfectly into the thick wall of sound achieved. An impressive band that can play the gamut from moody to ferocious fluidly with sophistication. One to watch...

Next, Dimestore Skanks began to prepare the stage for their eight piece band, including trumpet, trombone and saxophone. With hardly a wasted moment, the band was suddenly playing to a happy room of punters who were bobbing their read to the quick reggae influenced rhythms. Interestingly, the band played quieter than expected with so many brass instruments on stage and I suppose there was less mics on stage for these players, and so less house music from the PA was utilised. In any case, the band was fast and comedic, but the power of Pull Down The Sun was still echoing in my mind. I was hungry for more heavy music...

Planet Hunter was next, the band I had come to see. I had bought their EP pre-pandemic and was impressed with their special blend of stoner groove rock. I had heard snippets of their upcoming album Moscovium (which, for those who are wondering, is an artificially produced radioactive chemical element) namely the funky track, Humans of the Wild. Cormac Ferris, the band’s singer was dressed completely in silver mask and dress, appearing simultaneously like some unholy priest to an occasion and a robotic being. He sung well and performed better, reaching out to the crowd and really feeling the music. Despite the lights reflecting off the cape and mask, soon the costume was removed to allow the singer to continue performing to the best of his ability.

Borrowing heavily from this new album, the band had people playing air guitar in no time. A small circle of revelers were making a circle where a moshpit would normally be at one time, not unlike some pagan fanatics under a blood moon. The band embellished some songs with improvisation (I think) and they played both heavy and bouncy. The bass was high in the mix, sitting atop a layer of crunchy guitar and effected vocals. Perfect sound from the bar. Give that man a beer.

Finally, Steal This Band approached the stage and did their very best to emulate one of the most unique sounding nu metal bands of all time. Any fan of the band will tell you how important not only Serj Tankian vocals are, but also Daron Malakian their guitarist and principal songwriter. The band was fast and able to stop suddenly for frantic effect, but the vocals were either not high enough in the mix or too difficult to truly nail. However, by this stage, Valhalla had swollen to an impressive size, and it was clear Immolated Volume 3 was a success. The crowd was screaming along to the hits from Toxicity (mainly) as well as Mesmerize, Hypnotize and the afore mentioned album. Not an easy band to cover! Not that the punters minded. Everyone was dancing and singing.

What I remember from the night is the slightly wider range of fans that came to the venue, the four very different types of dancing (ska jumping through to groovy riff dancing, and then finally frantic moshing), but what I really want to see is more Planet Hunter!

 

Other Reviews By Nicholas Clark

Gig Review: Floyd Marsden @ Valhalla, Wellington - 18/07/2024
19 Jul 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
Although technically a sad affair, (as it was to be final of Floyd Marsden’s string of local shows promoting her album The Disco Lizards), the atmosphere in Valhalla was uncharacteristically filled with retro vibes but the usual friendly faces. In support for this show was Adult Friends, spearheaded by vocalist/guitarist Jackson Kidd who was also the producer of The Disco Lizards.
Read More...
SuperMild - EP Review: SuperMild
11 Jun 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
SuperMild is a busy band playing lots of venues and entertaining crowds with their blend of reggae tinged psychedelic rock. Their debut, self-titled four song EP is out now, and it spans the many sounds the band can summon with just three members.
Read More...
Anecdata - Album Review: Obsolete
05 Jun 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
Anecdata is a one man band, Dan, who proves without a shadow of a doubt that a single person can be far more prolific than a band of many members. He has recorded nine albums and a number of singles, dabbling in various genres (grunge pop as well as new wave inspired rock) and done covers also including New Zealand classic Sierra Leone, originally by Coconut Rough, and two Beatles covers (I Am The Walrus, and Things We Said Today).
Read More...
Carb On Carb - Album Review: Take Time
16 May 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
Carb on Carb was a busy, touring band until the lockdowns of 2020 and 2021. While promoting their first two full length albums, For Ages and their self-titled debut, James Stuteley (drums / vocals) and Nicole Gaffney (guitar / vocals) toured as far as Japan and the US, as well as extensively throughout New Zealand.
Read More...
Floyd Marsden - Album Review: The Disco Lizards
09 May 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
After two years in the making, Floyd Marsden releases her latest ten track album, The Disco Lizards. Although listed as alternative rock, this album features so much more than just that.
Read More...
Libbianski - Album Review: Useless Splendour
03 May 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
Unless you haven’t been paying attention, there’s a shoegaze revival occurring right now in Wellington. Many new bands are defining themselves as part of this subgenre of rock; namedropping band names such as Slow Dive, My Bloody Valentine or Swervedriver and leaning into the tenants of the tradition such as utilising effect pedals to create a lush, heavily affected guitar sound, and of course, looking at their shoes whilst playing (where the name of the style originates).
Read More...
Guilt Grip - Album Review: Guilt Grip
12 Apr 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
Tamaki Makaurau Auckland four-piece Guilt Grip present here, available in the unconventional medium of cassette tape, their first full length self-titled album. It’s an abrasive listen that suits the surreal collaged artwork by Lia Boscu, and one that proudly and loudly celebrates the band’s passions and values.
Read More...
EP Review: Lava
29 Feb 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
@page size: 21cm 29.7cm; margin: 2cm p { line-height: 115%; margin-bottom: 0.
Read More...
View All Articles By Nicholas Clark

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem