5 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Immolated Volume 3 @ Valhalla, Wellington - 30/09/2022

03 Oct 2022 // A review by Nicholas Clark
In the murky surroundings of Vivian Street I followed the sounds and smells to Immolated Volume 3 at Valhalla. Initially I was confused about the entrance to the gig, but soon found my way before the stage where bands were still being set up. It looked like the event was going to be a little later than expected but also bigger. Behind me, more people in black clothing were arriving. However, it must be said, the clothing varied more so than on other nights at Valhalla where the acts are all metal of the purely thrash or black variety... There were a few examples of ska fashion occurring, including dreadlocks, beanies, cheese-cutters and a few examples of early 2000’s nu-metal piercings. This was no doubt due to the line-up including a bonafide ska band, Dimestore Skanks and a System of a Down tribute band, named in honour of one of their most infamous releases in response to the Napster music sharing phenomenon of the mid 2000's. (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you are missing out on an album just as cool as Toxicity and drummer John Dolmayan’s favourite from his own band.)


I bought a beer (Super Charger APA) and began a conversation with a fellow photographer as the bar filled with people, and before long we were treated to the melodic and delay drenched layers of Pull Down The Sun from Whanganui. Their set began with the beautiful and haunting sounds of the koauau which segued beautifully into their textured approach. When they finally did bring out the distortion, bending strings out of recognition and back again in a swaying rhythm, they had the room’s attention.

Like the entrance to the gig, I was confused as I was sure they were going to be playing later, and from what I had heard of them I was interested in their uniquely New Zealand inspiration. Their album, Of Valleys and Mountains, doesn’t look like a classical metal album cover and indeed their music is equal parts pleasant as it is heavy. When vocals came, they were truly brutal and fitted perfectly into the thick wall of sound achieved. An impressive band that can play the gamut from moody to ferocious fluidly with sophistication. One to watch...

Next, Dimestore Skanks began to prepare the stage for their eight piece band, including trumpet, trombone and saxophone. With hardly a wasted moment, the band was suddenly playing to a happy room of punters who were bobbing their read to the quick reggae influenced rhythms. Interestingly, the band played quieter than expected with so many brass instruments on stage and I suppose there was less mics on stage for these players, and so less house music from the PA was utilised. In any case, the band was fast and comedic, but the power of Pull Down The Sun was still echoing in my mind. I was hungry for more heavy music...

Planet Hunter was next, the band I had come to see. I had bought their EP pre-pandemic and was impressed with their special blend of stoner groove rock. I had heard snippets of their upcoming album Moscovium (which, for those who are wondering, is an artificially produced radioactive chemical element) namely the funky track, Humans of the Wild. Cormac Ferris, the band’s singer was dressed completely in silver mask and dress, appearing simultaneously like some unholy priest to an occasion and a robotic being. He sung well and performed better, reaching out to the crowd and really feeling the music. Despite the lights reflecting off the cape and mask, soon the costume was removed to allow the singer to continue performing to the best of his ability.

Borrowing heavily from this new album, the band had people playing air guitar in no time. A small circle of revelers were making a circle where a moshpit would normally be at one time, not unlike some pagan fanatics under a blood moon. The band embellished some songs with improvisation (I think) and they played both heavy and bouncy. The bass was high in the mix, sitting atop a layer of crunchy guitar and effected vocals. Perfect sound from the bar. Give that man a beer.

Finally, Steal This Band approached the stage and did their very best to emulate one of the most unique sounding nu metal bands of all time. Any fan of the band will tell you how important not only Serj Tankian vocals are, but also Daron Malakian their guitarist and principal songwriter. The band was fast and able to stop suddenly for frantic effect, but the vocals were either not high enough in the mix or too difficult to truly nail. However, by this stage, Valhalla had swollen to an impressive size, and it was clear Immolated Volume 3 was a success. The crowd was screaming along to the hits from Toxicity (mainly) as well as Mesmerize, Hypnotize and the afore mentioned album. Not an easy band to cover! Not that the punters minded. Everyone was dancing and singing.

What I remember from the night is the slightly wider range of fans that came to the venue, the four very different types of dancing (ska jumping through to groovy riff dancing, and then finally frantic moshing), but what I really want to see is more Planet Hunter!

 

Other Reviews By Nicholas Clark

Bevan Mical - Single Review: Cuts Through The Years
21 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Cuts Through The Years is a jolly, breezy single by multi-instrumentalist, Bevan Mical. The song begins with a two-chord sequence on acoustic guitar, but there's something exotic about the chords are instruments that support the verse.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - EP Review: Seasons of The Soul / Wa O Te Wairua
21 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Seasons of The Soul or Wa O Te Wairua, is a collection of songs by multi-instrumentalist and self-described folk noir artist GiGi Genie. The group is led by songwriter GiGi Crayford and her support band which includes flautists, violinists, zither and percussion players.
Read More...
Ben Horlock - Single Review: Don't Wait On Me
21 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Ben Horlock (Ngati Porou/Te Arawa) is a pop artist from Dunedin who has an ear for a great pop melody, a knack for moody blues guitar lines, and the kind of voice talent scouts are always listening out for. His latest release Don’t Wait on Me features the prominent high hat of modern trap music coming out of Atlanta, an ambient synth lifted from a goth club track, with some deep bass chords to anchor it all together.
Read More...
Hans Pucket - Album Review: No Drama
21 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Wellington four-piece Hans Pucket is the kind of band you really should get into now (if you haven’t already) and see live before they become massive. That is, if the world is fair and allows these musicians to succeed at their art form because they really are incredibly good at what they do - and that’s writing beautiful, clever, unusual songs that seem to be for and inspired by uncertain times.
Read More...
ABRZY - Album Review: 80 Different Ways II
18 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
ABRZY (sometimes referred to as Breezy) is a rapper who has quickly made a name for himself for not only his distinctive, rapid flowing delivery but his unique style that blends influences from Bengali culture. Above all, this release is genuine.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 12/11/2022
14 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
There was a palpable energy in Valhalla on Saturday night; something akin to an orchestra warming up before an opera or athletes preparing for a big game. Before the first act, standing patrons were clamouring for the front line to enjoy three fantastic (and quite different) rock bands.
Read More...
House of Bonnie Presents @ Valhalla, Wellington - 10/11/2022
12 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
While Wellington’s Valhalla can often seem the perfect venue for dark and brutal music with the Viking themed attire, steep black walls, not to mention imposing decals (including some surviving Halloween decorations), the bar was all colour and light on Thursday evening when Sodalight, REID, Happy Two and Burnt Out Graduate came to brighten the corners. The event had been organised by The House of Bonnie; an organiser who regularly puts on pop shows that are often related to Massey University creative art graduates.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Criminal
06 Nov 2022 // by Nicholas Clark
Curlys Jewels' Criminal begins with one hell of a riff inspired by the glory days of 90’s grunge, but produced with a little more bite giving it a metallic vibe. I instantly thought of Alice in Chains, not only as an influence on the song but also as another band that drew heavily from both genres.
Read More...
View All Articles By Nicholas Clark

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem