2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dead Beat Boys - Album Review: Dead Beat Boys

01 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton. One reason why I favour British punk over American (except Ramones who are of course in a genre all their own) is because there is a reality within it, a realism which the bubblegum of Blink 182 and others has never managed to achieve. But out of the popular American punk bands there has been one which has impressed me over the last 30 years or so, as they have managed to keep it real while also providing fun tunes, The Offspring. Why do I mention them in a review of Auckland quintet Dead Beat Boys? Because they have taken The Offspring as inspiration, thrown in a dose of classic Kiwi rock and created something which is all their own

Pick a song, any song, and there is a driving beat and pumping bass with two guitars providing the buzzsaw riffs and short but perfectly formed solos, and then over the top is James Fitz riding the powerhouse with ease. Somehow, I have managed to miss seeing them play (I see they were down to do some gigs with Dead Favours last year, that would have been awesome!), but given the energy coming through this they must be absolutely immense live. They have the tongue in cheek humour which was always prevalent with The Clash, with Shigood containing doo wop, while they are doing their best London punk impression with Die In Hell Ska.

Everything about this album is designed to make the listener smile as it is so much fun! 12 songs, 38 minutes in length, here we have a band who sound as if they could have been recorded live in the studio, yet the arrangements contain plenty of space and are considered, although I do expect this to be far more brutal at a gig. We get clips of the guys talking to each other on some songs, yet this is a polished album by a band who are incredibly tight. The melodies are intricate, and although some of punk’s most famous protagonists could hardly play a note (yes Sid), these guys prove that punk does not have to be 4 chords, heads down and meet at the end, as here are 12 songs showing they really know what they are about with a huge variety of material.

Anyone who wants classic punk combined with pumping hard melodic rock combined with clever lyrics and attitude off the wall, then this is essential. Now where’s the gig?

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Dead Beat Boys

Dead Beat Boys fuse punk intensity with classic-rock riffs, all strung together in a show uncontainable by the stage.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dead Beat Boys

Releases

Dead Beat Boys
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Very Live
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem