3 Jun 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dead Beat Boys - Album Review: Dead Beat Boys

01 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton. One reason why I favour British punk over American (except Ramones who are of course in a genre all their own) is because there is a reality within it, a realism which the bubblegum of Blink 182 and others has never managed to achieve. But out of the popular American punk bands there has been one which has impressed me over the last 30 years or so, as they have managed to keep it real while also providing fun tunes, The Offspring. Why do I mention them in a review of Auckland quintet Dead Beat Boys? Because they have taken The Offspring as inspiration, thrown in a dose of classic Kiwi rock and created something which is all their own

Pick a song, any song, and there is a driving beat and pumping bass with two guitars providing the buzzsaw riffs and short but perfectly formed solos, and then over the top is James Fitz riding the powerhouse with ease. Somehow, I have managed to miss seeing them play (I see they were down to do some gigs with Dead Favours last year, that would have been awesome!), but given the energy coming through this they must be absolutely immense live. They have the tongue in cheek humour which was always prevalent with The Clash, with Shigood containing doo wop, while they are doing their best London punk impression with Die In Hell Ska.

Everything about this album is designed to make the listener smile as it is so much fun! 12 songs, 38 minutes in length, here we have a band who sound as if they could have been recorded live in the studio, yet the arrangements contain plenty of space and are considered, although I do expect this to be far more brutal at a gig. We get clips of the guys talking to each other on some songs, yet this is a polished album by a band who are incredibly tight. The melodies are intricate, and although some of punk’s most famous protagonists could hardly play a note (yes Sid), these guys prove that punk does not have to be 4 chords, heads down and meet at the end, as here are 12 songs showing they really know what they are about with a huge variety of material.

Anyone who wants classic punk combined with pumping hard melodic rock combined with clever lyrics and attitude off the wall, then this is essential. Now where’s the gig?

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Dead Beat Boys

Dead Beat Boys fuse punk intensity with classic-rock riffs, all strung together in a show uncontainable by the stage.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dead Beat Boys

Releases

Dead Beat Boys
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Very Live
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
Drop Off Point - EP Review: Bridge City Crew
21 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 1991, bassist Jorge 'Hoya Roc' Guerra took over from the legend that is Roger Minet in the Agnostic Front side-project Madball, since when he has been a constant alongside Freddy Cricien. He now has a new claim to fame, providing a shoutout to his favourite Kiwi band at the beginning of this EP.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow & Kerryn Fields - Single Review: Your Heart of Gold
21 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have a brand-new partnership from two artists who have already made names for themselves performing solo, and although they are both proud Kiwis, they have each won The Music Victoria Awards. Even though Matt Joe Gow only released his latest album a few months ago, this new partnership is already touring the country performing songs from their catalogues as well as new ones they have been writing and recording, of which this is the first.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CUPID (TWIN VERSION)
    Fifty Fifty
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • LAST NIGHT
    Morgan Wallen
  • DAYLIGHT
    David Kushner
  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • CALM DOWN
    Rema And Selena Gomez
  • BOY'S A LIAR PT. 2
    PinkPantheress And Ice Spice
  • DIE FOR YOU (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • SAY YES TO HEAVEN
    Lana Del Rey
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem