1 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity

01 Oct 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon). Lyrics are an important aspect for Gabriel, and here he spins his tale about a relationship with someone who is clearly bad for him, but he does not know how to end it, and keeps finding reasons to stay together even it is not a good idea. His vocals are clear, and whereas last time I said he reminded me somewhat of Richard Marx this is far more up to date with John Mayer being an obvious influence.

This is well-constructed pop with light funk overtones (some gorgeous bass pops here and there), jangly guitar (nice rock solo though) and an arrangement which keeps his vocals front and centre. There are some delightful harmonies in the bridge leading to the chorus, as well as the chorus instead, and the result is a summery number which is surely destined for radio success. He has already set out his stall and has even opened for Tiki Taane and I am sure we are going to hear a lot more from this talented singer songwriter.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Gabriel Bond

Gabriel Bond is a singer-songwriter with a passion for honest, vulnerable lyricism and melodic acoustic riffs, with a repertoire that blends upbeat anthems with melancholic ballads. Playing guitar and singing since he was five years old, his influences range from artists such as John Mayer, Bruce Springsteen, Maggie Rogers and Ed Sheeran. Gabriel began writing original music in his final year of high school, and followed this by studying a degree in Popular Music at the University of Auckland.

Hailing from the shores of Palm Beach, Waiheke Island, Gabriel has played shows to crowds all over Auckland City, Including headlining shows at venues like the Wine Cellar, and opening for Tiki Taane on Waiheke in 2018.

Over the past few years, Gabriel has been honing his craft and working with many up and coming artists and producers in the NZ music industry. He writes songs based mainly on his own life experiences, with lyrics about leaving home, falling in love and heartbreak.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gabriel Bond

Releases

There are no releases to display for Gabriel Bond.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem