1 Jun 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much

29 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar. Ryan Culleton’s vocals are somewhat reminiscent of Jonathan Richman with a breathy and frail voice which has a steel core. There are no drums, percussion or beat, which gives the music a certain feel but just when one feels like everything makes sense, it ends. The first time I played this I was quite surprised so checked the length which was when I realised it was only a fraction over two minutes long. Now, I am not averse to short songs (I am a massive fan of the likes of Napalm Death and Agoraphobic Nosebleed, neither of which are known for lengthy material), but here the rather abrupt ending does seem out of place.

This is the third single from the forthcoming album, Oriens, and it will be interesting to hear how the band comes across in a larger setting as while this is interesting, I found that for me there was just not enough depth and if it were longer, I am sure the ideas being presented would have had time to better develop.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Impostor Syndrome

Soundtracks to experiences. ~ "The band are thinkers, experimenters, and explorers. They bear the bloodline of their now nostalgic forefathers, without following their footprints into the world of tribute. They forge their own path." - muzic.net.nz

Impostor Syndrome is an experimental recording project, whose wide range of influences challenge the idea of what is commonly heard within the confines of New Zealand Progressive Rock. The band is based in Auckland, New Zealand, and blends alternative rock with film score and spoken word, described by muzic.net.nz as ‘Industrial meets Depeche Mode’. Becoming best of friends as seventeen year olds over a shared love of Alice in Chains, it took until 2019 before vocalist Ryan Culleton, drummer Scott Nicolson and multi-instrumentalist Shannon Coulomb were to create music together as a unit.

The 2020 pandemic gave the trio an opportunity to further their learning and experimenting of recording techniques, resulting in an album’s worth of music to be released in 2022. The pursuit of expression and boundless creativity, drawing from a wide range of influences, continues to be the central motivation for the band. They have also been converting a garage into their own recording facility that will no doubt keep the band busy for years to come.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Impostor Syndrome

Releases

Oriens
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
Drop Off Point - EP Review: Bridge City Crew
21 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 1991, bassist Jorge 'Hoya Roc' Guerra took over from the legend that is Roger Minet in the Agnostic Front side-project Madball, since when he has been a constant alongside Freddy Cricien. He now has a new claim to fame, providing a shoutout to his favourite Kiwi band at the beginning of this EP.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow & Kerryn Fields - Single Review: Your Heart of Gold
21 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have a brand-new partnership from two artists who have already made names for themselves performing solo, and although they are both proud Kiwis, they have each won The Music Victoria Awards. Even though Matt Joe Gow only released his latest album a few months ago, this new partnership is already touring the country performing songs from their catalogues as well as new ones they have been writing and recording, of which this is the first.
Read More...
Mikey Videotape - Single Review: The Strangest Dream
19 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Some years back I was asked by AAA Records if I would write the press release for the debut album by a young Auckland-based prog band to which of course I agreed and in due course I was speaking to singer Michael Brown of Outside In about their incredible release, Karmatrain. I have been fortunate enough to see them play a few times since then, while Michael has also been guesting with other people plus also putting videos up on Facebook of him singing covers.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CUPID (TWIN VERSION)
    Fifty Fifty
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • LAST NIGHT
    Morgan Wallen
  • DAYLIGHT
    David Kushner
  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • CALM DOWN
    Rema And Selena Gomez
  • BOY'S A LIAR PT. 2
    PinkPantheress And Ice Spice
  • DIE FOR YOU (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • SAY YES TO HEAVEN
    Lana Del Rey
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem