2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea

29 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP. I may not be too sure of that description to be honest, but at the very least it shows a sense of humour and a band not out to take themselves too seriously. From the band name I expected a group of wizened old folkies, but instead what we have is a band who are rock based but bringing in lots of influences to create something which is immensely listenable.

They strike me as a classic NZ rock band like Dragon, who write good songs with interesting lyrics without ever pushing too hard into any other genre so while they are not too heavy there are some interesting guitar solos and dual runs, plus there are also some feelings of 80’s Manchester in their indie style, all wrapped up with some pop like melodies with nice hooks. They have also resisted the temptation to go for a polished sound, so at times this is quite raw with plenty of space within the arrangement which gives it a nice naïve edge. The drums strike a balance between sitting back and driving forward, while the bass is often the driving force which allows the guitars to be more nuanced as opposed to riffing.

The lyrics are very clever indeed, and once one starts paying attention to them, they very much become the focal point as they are putting together loads of different ideas. Casual Smoker has a lovely steel drum solo (how often can you say that about a rock song?), but there are also some crunching riffs which makes the whole thing quite psychotic in an endearing manner. Contrast that to Itchy Feet which is away more driving and has much more of a power pop/post punk feel to it that is full of life and energy. There is a fresh feel about this, an energy which is inviting, with each song quite different in approach to the last, all held together by the lyrics and John’s vocals. It is a load of fun, ripe for the summer, and one can imagine their gigs to be a blast from start to finish. The sound is rounded and real, and I am sure we are going to be hearing a lot more from these guys.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Old Salts

Old Salts are an alternative rock band who are set to leave an impression with the release of their debut single Take a Breather due out on 21-01-2022.
The song will be one of four singles released off their forthcoming EP Stories told by the Sea.

Take a Breather is an enthusiastic drinking song which also references taking a break so there's a lot of space for interpretation of lyrics. Take a Breather is seasoned with influences from Primus and Them Crooked Vultures and has more rawness and grit than their upcoming releases. Each of four songs on the upcoming EP fall within the parameters of alt rock, from serious to satire, moody rock ballads to angsty rock anthems. There is an assortment of goodies rich in vitamins to sustain any listeners tastes and dietary needs. Take a Breather will wet the whistle and leave you wanting more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Old Salts

Releases

Stories Told By The Sea
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem