2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love

29 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums). Yes, you did read that correctly, slide guitar and I was intrigued to hear how Jacob was producing his sounds so checked out some of the videos on their FB page and notice he is one of those very rare beasts indeed, a rock guitarist who does not use a pick which provides an unusual tone.

The rhythm section is nice and tight, while Boaz provides a chugging guitar to underpin his vocals, and one could easily imagine them operating as a trio. However, the addition of the slide gives them a unique approach, sometimes coming through as country and western, and others being far more dramatic in the theme of Rory Gallagher. Altogether this is classic rock, but with a flavour far removed from what one would normally expect from Dunedin, with the opening title cut allowing them to spread their wings and have some fun and then just stopping, dead.

It would not surprise me if this was recorded live in the studio, as it has that feel about it, four guys who each know what they are about, grooving and having fun. Dean provides some wonderful runs, Boaz concentrates on the chords to provide the support to his vocals, Callan keeps a sweet rhythm, and then Jacob noodles over the top. There is a freshness here, which makes it light and inviting, perfect for the better weather ahead as we are never in a rush, with the four of them combining to create something which is different yet also familiar. I have been trying to rack my brains and think who they most remind me of, and the closest I can get to this is Dire Straits, but even that isn’t correct as they truly have a sound and style quite unlike any other band.

Although they have previously released some singles, this is their debut EP, and am certainly looking forward to hearing more from them in the future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About BO And the Constrictors

Slithering their way all over the Dunedin live music scene, BO And the Constrictors are squeezing new life into Vintage Pop/Rock with a modern twist.

Delivering high energy, crowd provoking performances with catchy singles that leave a long-lasting impression with their audio fangs.

Following the release of Hold Me (2019), Imaginary Lover (2020), CCS

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for BO And the Constrictors

Releases

Love
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem