1 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love

29 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums). Yes, you did read that correctly, slide guitar and I was intrigued to hear how Jacob was producing his sounds so checked out some of the videos on their FB page and notice he is one of those very rare beasts indeed, a rock guitarist who does not use a pick which provides an unusual tone.

The rhythm section is nice and tight, while Boaz provides a chugging guitar to underpin his vocals, and one could easily imagine them operating as a trio. However, the addition of the slide gives them a unique approach, sometimes coming through as country and western, and others being far more dramatic in the theme of Rory Gallagher. Altogether this is classic rock, but with a flavour far removed from what one would normally expect from Dunedin, with the opening title cut allowing them to spread their wings and have some fun and then just stopping, dead.

It would not surprise me if this was recorded live in the studio, as it has that feel about it, four guys who each know what they are about, grooving and having fun. Dean provides some wonderful runs, Boaz concentrates on the chords to provide the support to his vocals, Callan keeps a sweet rhythm, and then Jacob noodles over the top. There is a freshness here, which makes it light and inviting, perfect for the better weather ahead as we are never in a rush, with the four of them combining to create something which is different yet also familiar. I have been trying to rack my brains and think who they most remind me of, and the closest I can get to this is Dire Straits, but even that isn’t correct as they truly have a sound and style quite unlike any other band.

Although they have previously released some singles, this is their debut EP, and am certainly looking forward to hearing more from them in the future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About BO And the Constrictors

Slithering their way all over the Dunedin live music scene, BO And the Constrictors are squeezing new life into Vintage Pop/Rock with a modern twist.

Delivering high energy, crowd provoking performances with catchy singles that leave a long-lasting impression with their audio fangs.

Following the release of Hold Me (2019), Imaginary Lover (2020), CCS

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for BO And the Constrictors

Releases

Love
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem