30 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Chris Bates - Single Review: Lose My Mind

22 Sep 2022 // A review by Jack Grabham

In short, if I could give this a six out of five I would. Do I need to go on? Oh, okay then...

Chris Bates has hit a home run with his latest single release Lose My Mind. A song about finding new happiness and love following a low period, this is a reminder of a magical feeling we can all hopefully remember having experienced.

Produced by Daniel Martin, the mix, master and orchestration of the music track is totally spot on. The lyrical performance shows a pleasing range, remaining within the song instead of shouting it down or getting lost in the mix. The melody is a pleasant one that's still bopping through my head as I type.

Chris's intentions are clear. This single has been crafted. The young man means it, and it's worthwhile to give him your attention, if this release is a barometer of his talent. There's a release plan too, with an up-coming EP to look forward to with the working title Forgive Me If I Lose My Mind.

I congratulate Chris on the decision at 13 to move from violin to pop. It suits his voice, and he can deliver. Please show me the video? This single needs a vid because it needs to be aired comprehensively so more people can hear this guy.

Am I gushing here? Yup. Unapologetically. This glam rock loving ol' fella is sold.

Thy kingdom come on the Wild Side.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Chris Bates

Described as New Zealand’s "pop prince" by his peers, Chris Bates is a 22-year-old singer known for his silky smooth vocals and intricate pop melodies. His influences range from artists such as Charlie Puth, Bruno Mars and John Mayer, to older artists like Phil Collins.

Hailing from a childhood background of classical violin, much to his mother’s dismay Bates made the switch to pop music at age 13. "It’s my Dad’s fault." Bates remembers long family car trips in which they would listen to his dad’s pop CDs. It was during these years that Bates grew a deep love for songwriting and pop music.

He began writing a string of songs that he performed at open mic nights around Auckland, testing the waters. Entering a variety of competitions including Smokefree Rockquest and busking regularly, Bates started to become known in the Auckland music scene. In 2015 he was recognised with the Rising Star Award from the Variety Artists Club of New Zealand, joining winners including Annie Crummer, Lizzy Marvelly and Lisa Crawley.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Chris Bates

Releases

There are no releases to display for Chris Bates.

Other Reviews By Jack Grabham

These Four Walls - Single/Video Review: Marigold
28 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
I clicked the five stars score before putting a letter to type. Kiwi-born but Brisbane-based heavy rockers These Four Walls are a professional unit.
Read More...
Juliet McLean - EP Review: Amaze Me
24 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
A very introspective offering here from Taranaki based singer/songwriter Juliet McLean. The EP Amaze Me, named for its promo single release, is not my usual cup of tea - however, I have said before that music is a subjective creature and a thing of beauty to me might not be so for you...
Read More...
Tia Ward - Single Review: Ko Wai Ahau
18 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Divine. Taranaki, Ngati Maniapoto has given us the bewitching sound of Tia Ward.
Read More...
Finn Johansson - Single Review: You Look Down At Me
08 Nov 2022 // by Jack Grabham
I am SO having a golden run with these reviews! Yet another that has sent me to that place I like to go.
Read More...
The Late Starters - Single Review: False Victim
31 Oct 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Okay, here's another belter. Christchurch's groovy rockers The Late Starters are releasing their new single False Victim on 1st November, and you need to hear it.
Read More...
Becca Caffyn - EP Review: The Replacement Blonde
22 Sep 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Dunedin-based singer-songwriter Becca Caffyn brings us her debut EP release The Replacement Blonde, a four song journey through pivotal experiences that have left their mark on her 19 years in this life. Produced by Christchurch-based Will McGillivray (Goodwill) and mastered by Joe Faris, Becca has traversed Parachute Music's great Artist Development initiative.
Read More...
Frau Knotz - Single/Video Review: Supernova
15 Sep 2022 // by Jack Grabham
Frau Knotz (Lauren Nottingham) has what her former Mexican host family would describe as cojones. She found herself stuck in Mexico City - not the world's most placid of places - for eight months during the height of the pandemic, thanks to a cruise ship gig being cancelled three days after she arrived there.
Read More...
Dolphin Friendly - Single/Video Review: Radical Desire
01 Sep 2022 // by Jack Grabham
And BOOM! Christchurch rock band Dolphin Friendly's new release Radical Desire is right up my street.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jack Grabham

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem