6 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium

22 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating. Fast forward a few years, and the quartet are releasing their debut album which is named after an extremely radioactive synthetic element which came into existence less than 20 years ago. Who said rock bands aren’t nerds at heart? Given the way they chose the band name, plus the science matter of the album, one could be forgiven for thinking that here we have a progressive rock band who follow Hawkwind and are generating space rock, but no. What is contained within these grooves (yes, it is available on vinyl) is music that is combining grunge and doom to create something which is incredibly heavy yet has an underlying groove and commerciality which makes it a load of fun.

The band comprise Jedaiah Van Ewijk (bass), Cormac Ferris (vocals), William Saunders (guitar) and David McGurk (drums), and one can imagine them recording this live in the studio as there is little in the way of additional tracking or layering (although there is some on the guitars in places) and it has the vitality one would expect from that manner of working. The bass is rich and thick, often tied in directly with the guitar although there are instances when it goes off on its own, while the drums provide the punch and chop through the bottom end, of which there is plenty. There are a few effects on the guitar, but mostly it is all about throwing down a line or riff and expecting the rest of the guys to pull in tight behind to work as a single unit. Cormac has a great voice, thick and broad with plenty of range and the music allows him to work the range, calming down when the need arises but also allowing him to demonstrate his chops. In many ways they remind me of Auckland band Silcrow, and if someone could organise a gig of the two of them together, I know that would work incredibly well.

For those who want to be able to put a saddle on the riffs and ride them around the room, this is solid, punchy and direct with a great underlying groove. They say their music sounds like celestial bodies colliding, and they may be right.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Planet Hunter

Planet Hunter came together in early 2017. After a year and a half of creating their own unique form of riff-fuelled rock, the band finally named themselves on the auspicious date of April 19. On the very same day, the Planet Hunter Satellite was launched into outer space.

It seemed appropriate; the satellite will search for new alien worlds throughout the cosmos, and the band will do the same.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Planet Hunter

Releases

Moscovium
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Planet Hunter
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem