23 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium

22 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating. Fast forward a few years, and the quartet are releasing their debut album which is named after an extremely radioactive synthetic element which came into existence less than 20 years ago. Who said rock bands aren’t nerds at heart? Given the way they chose the band name, plus the science matter of the album, one could be forgiven for thinking that here we have a progressive rock band who follow Hawkwind and are generating space rock, but no. What is contained within these grooves (yes, it is available on vinyl) is music that is combining grunge and doom to create something which is incredibly heavy yet has an underlying groove and commerciality which makes it a load of fun.

The band comprise Jedaiah Van Ewijk (bass), Cormac Ferris (vocals), William Saunders (guitar) and David McGurk (drums), and one can imagine them recording this live in the studio as there is little in the way of additional tracking or layering (although there is some on the guitars in places) and it has the vitality one would expect from that manner of working. The bass is rich and thick, often tied in directly with the guitar although there are instances when it goes off on its own, while the drums provide the punch and chop through the bottom end, of which there is plenty. There are a few effects on the guitar, but mostly it is all about throwing down a line or riff and expecting the rest of the guys to pull in tight behind to work as a single unit. Cormac has a great voice, thick and broad with plenty of range and the music allows him to work the range, calming down when the need arises but also allowing him to demonstrate his chops. In many ways they remind me of Auckland band Silcrow, and if someone could organise a gig of the two of them together, I know that would work incredibly well.

For those who want to be able to put a saddle on the riffs and ride them around the room, this is solid, punchy and direct with a great underlying groove. They say their music sounds like celestial bodies colliding, and they may be right.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Planet Hunter

Planet Hunter came together in early 2017. After a year and a half of creating their own unique form of riff-fuelled rock, the band finally named themselves on the auspicious date of April 19. On the very same day, the Planet Hunter Satellite was launched into outer space.

It seemed appropriate; the satellite will search for new alien worlds throughout the cosmos, and the band will do the same.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Planet Hunter

Releases

Moscovium
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Planet Hunter
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • FORTNIGHT
    Taylor Swift feat. Post Malone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem