5 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium

22 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating. Fast forward a few years, and the quartet are releasing their debut album which is named after an extremely radioactive synthetic element which came into existence less than 20 years ago. Who said rock bands aren’t nerds at heart? Given the way they chose the band name, plus the science matter of the album, one could be forgiven for thinking that here we have a progressive rock band who follow Hawkwind and are generating space rock, but no. What is contained within these grooves (yes, it is available on vinyl) is music that is combining grunge and doom to create something which is incredibly heavy yet has an underlying groove and commerciality which makes it a load of fun.

The band comprise Jedaiah Van Ewijk (bass), Cormac Ferris (vocals), William Saunders (guitar) and David McGurk (drums), and one can imagine them recording this live in the studio as there is little in the way of additional tracking or layering (although there is some on the guitars in places) and it has the vitality one would expect from that manner of working. The bass is rich and thick, often tied in directly with the guitar although there are instances when it goes off on its own, while the drums provide the punch and chop through the bottom end, of which there is plenty. There are a few effects on the guitar, but mostly it is all about throwing down a line or riff and expecting the rest of the guys to pull in tight behind to work as a single unit. Cormac has a great voice, thick and broad with plenty of range and the music allows him to work the range, calming down when the need arises but also allowing him to demonstrate his chops. In many ways they remind me of Auckland band Silcrow, and if someone could organise a gig of the two of them together, I know that would work incredibly well.

For those who want to be able to put a saddle on the riffs and ride them around the room, this is solid, punchy and direct with a great underlying groove. They say their music sounds like celestial bodies colliding, and they may be right.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Planet Hunter

Planet Hunter came together in early 2017. After a year and a half of creating their own unique form of riff-fuelled rock, the band finally named themselves on the auspicious date of April 19. On the very same day, the Planet Hunter Satellite was launched into outer space.

It seemed appropriate; the satellite will search for new alien worlds throughout the cosmos, and the band will do the same.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Planet Hunter

Releases

Moscovium
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Planet Hunter
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: LIIT @ Morningside 605, Auckland - 3/12/2022
04 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often I can say I am at a venue for the first time, but this is indeed the first time I have attended the small but perfectly formed venue which is Morningside 605. I had made my way over to this side of Auckland, and had to park miles away due to Billy Joel playing at Eden Park on the same night, to catch the infamous LIIT and have a party.
Read More...
KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem