30 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Medusa Glare - Single Review: Lay It To Rest

21 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

It is not unusual for me to have conversations with music lovers which revolve around me attempting to convince them there is a vibrant and exciting music scene in Aotearoa as sometimes it feels like I am coming across a wonderful new band on a daily basis, and here is another. I am sure if Medusa Glare were an Auckland act as opposed to being from the ‘Tron I would have come across them long before now, but given they were formed back in 2014 there really is no excuse on missing out on this classic hard rock band until now. This reminds me a lot of the arrangements of the late Sixties/early Seventies in that there is no fear of overlaying acoustic guitar with the electrics, has a killer riff, loads of space, clear drums (great use of cymbals as a cut through), a bass which is either linked in on the melody or providing a counter, wonderful hooks, and solid vocals.

It builds into the main event and also pulls away, using harmony vocals when the time is right to provide additional effect, and there is a moment at the end of the first verse (about 45 seconds in) which reminds me of The Beatles every time I listen to this. There is that pop rock psychedelic link into music which can also be incredibly heavy yet always staying on the side of rock as opposed to metal, commercial yet with balls, and always incredibly honest and real. The guitar solo is sweet and never outstays its welcome, as this is all about the three of them combining to deliver something is plush, refined, polished and so incredibly enjoyable. Now, when is the album out?

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Medusa Glare

Medusa Glare are an exciting and powerful new rock outfit.
This ambitious group was formed in Hamilton, New Zealand in 2014 by Simon Koretz-guitar/vocals, and Rick Walker-drums. They released their debut single and video "No Tomorrow" in April 2014.
The intention was always to source a fitting frontman and bassist, and within months the line -up was complete with the addition of the incredible Jason Galu on lead vocals and Nathan Waters on bass and back-up vocals.
Combining contemporary sounds with hard hitting old school rock, they deliver the perfect blend of groove and melody. Catchy hooks, driving rhythms and killer riffs are plentiful in their repertoire of exceptional original music

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Medusa Glare

Releases

Medusa Glare
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Take The Fall
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
Gig Review: Achilles Complex @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 23/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I cannot believe I have not been at Dead Witch since the beginning of July, but there has been so much music going on that I kept having clashes. Luckily, Harley asked if I could come and see Achilles Complex quite some time back so this date was locked in.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium
22 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating.
Read More...
PolarisRadio - Album Review: Legend of the Broken Claw
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was not too sure what to expect from PolarisRadio, which is the pseudonym for Dean Moroney, but I am pretty sure this wasn’t it! Dean’s music is normally described as Synthwave, and in some respects that still fits as here we have an instrumental album which appears to be based on a video game, yet while there are some tracks (such as Sea of Stars) which are solidly sat within that genre, there are plenty of others which do not.
Read More...
Thousand Limbs - Single Review: The Aurouchs - Ensnared
19 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second single from Auckland-based instrumental doom outfit Thousand Limbs. It is taken from their forthcoming debut album The Aurouchs, which is a ten-part song-cycle based on Kakuan Shien’s Ten Ox Herding Pictures, and is set to be released later this year, with each of the ten songs being based on one of the ten woodcuts.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem