30 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

PolarisRadio - Album Review: Legend of the Broken Claw

21 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I was not too sure what to expect from PolarisRadio, which is the pseudonym for Dean Moroney, but I am pretty sure this wasn’t it! Dean’s music is normally described as Synthwave, and in some respects that still fits as here we have an instrumental album which appears to be based on a video game, yet while there are some tracks (such as Sea of Stars) which are solidly sat within that genre, there are plenty of others which do not. If ever there was an album which was fusing together Synthwave with Rammstein and prog metal, then this must be it. It is done so well that everything flows together, and it is only as the music swirls and changes that one realises that it is moving from one genre to another as it is done so very well indeed.

There are no boundaries here, no limits, so we have plenty of riffing guitar combining with dance and dated synths, yet at times it is also incredibly Teutonic and while there are plenty of elements in here reminiscent of Written By Wolves one can also hear elements of the likes of Threshold and Galahad, especially the latter’s dance spinoff Galahad Electric Company. There is a vitality and power which is often missing from one-man acts – this is not something which is laid back and gentle but rather it is something which could be cranked out on dance floors and would also not sound out of place in rock stadia, such is its cross-genre appeal. There is real bite here as Dean does not meander around but instead goes for the jugular ensuring that when played at the correct volume this shakes the speakers and everything around it.

Listening to the introduction of Poisoned Chalice with the creaking rigging and then the dynamic repeated keyboard melody one could easily imagine this morphing into a prog metal blaster, and while he somehow manages to keep it restrained there is no doubt there is brutality just waiting to break through. This is an album which will appeal to the open-minded fans of different genres, although there may be some who listen to prog metal who will say this is too dance-driven while those into dance may say there are too many guitars, but for those of us who listen to good music no matter the genre then this is a delight throughout. Here we have an artist going where the music leads him, and is all the better for that. Incredibly powerful, this is something else...

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About PolarisRadio

PolarisRadio produces a blend of instrumental rock and pounding dance beats, with a healthy dose of soaring synthesisers reminiscent of 1980's era movie soundtracks and synthpop anthems.

PolarisRadio’s live shows are a mix of loud guitar, synths and drum triggers, guided by DJ style dance sequences which allow him to seamlessly transition between instruments and tracks with the intention of delivering a hefty dose of energetic dance-rock.

In addition, aesthetics are a notable part of the retro-infused music he produces. PolarisRadio considers a strong visual presence to be vital to his performances, stemming from his background in graphic design and motion graphics. As such, he compliments his music and performances with bright and eye catching imagery, in addition to creating his own album artwork and other media.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for PolarisRadio

Releases

Infinity Mirror
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Deadline
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Virtual Paradise
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Labyrinthine
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Breakneck City
Year: 2017
Type: Album
4909: Infinity
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
Gig Review: Achilles Complex @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 23/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I cannot believe I have not been at Dead Witch since the beginning of July, but there has been so much music going on that I kept having clashes. Luckily, Harley asked if I could come and see Achilles Complex quite some time back so this date was locked in.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium
22 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Lay It To Rest
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not unusual for me to have conversations with music lovers which revolve around me attempting to convince them there is a vibrant and exciting music scene in Aotearoa as sometimes it feels like I am coming across a wonderful new band on a daily basis, and here is another. I am sure if Medusa Glare were an Auckland act as opposed to being from the ‘Tron I would have come across them long before now, but given they were formed back in 2014 there really is no excuse on missing out on this classic hard rock band until now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem