30 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jaqualyn Taimana Williams - Single Review: In Between

18 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

In Between is the third single from the upcoming 2023 EP Guns Of Dialogue, but is the first time I have personally come across Jaqualyn Taimana Williams. As with her debut album she has been working with producer Tim Skedden and Chris Chetland, and when I read that I was somewhat confused as the way this song starts there is no way that it sounds as if Chris has been involved as I have huge admiration for what comes out of Kog Studio. This caused me to listen again with slightly different ears as the introduction and first verse is just slightly off, but then I realised this is deliberate as the vocals soon change and come more to the fore while the twee background is quite deliberate and alters dramatically in the chorus when the guitars come in.

Jaqi’s vocals are clear and clean, and although there can be a mass of distorted and fuzzed guitars beneath, she still provides clarity and cut through over the top while never having to change the stress and attack. The different styles within the song certainly encourages one to pay close attention to what is going on, while lyrically it is about the struggle of “belonging” culturally for people who feel like they live in more than culture. There are obvious nods to PJ Harvey in terms of style, yet underneath the picked guitar and gentle keyboards there are patterns which have more in connection with the more electronic stylings of Portishead but combined with a sense of vulnerability. One of the more poignant moments comes at the end of the track when it is just her accompanied by acoustic guitar, ending with her singing acapella. Very powerful indeed.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Jaqualyn Taimana Williams

New Zealand musician and songwriter Jaqualyn Taimana Williams is a self-describes Polynesian Asian Caucasian multi-racial person a mother of four and a registered early childhood teacher.

At age 50, Jaqi released her powerful, exhilarating and engaging 16 track rock/pop album Statues Of Liberty in October 2019. Recorded at Kog Recording Studio with the track production expertise of Tim Skedden (The Feelers, Babysitters Circus) and the mastering skills of Chris Chetland, this collection of songs represents the best and most popular works emerging over decades of songwriting and performing.

A gutsy artist whose lyrics track her inter-human battles and emotional depths over many years, Jaqi says: “It’s a triumph for me, a body of work that is truly dynamic and diverse and plays through beautifully as a whole album.”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jaqualyn Taimana Williams

Releases

Statues Of Liberty
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Waiata Tamariki
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
Gig Review: Achilles Complex @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 23/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I cannot believe I have not been at Dead Witch since the beginning of July, but there has been so much music going on that I kept having clashes. Luckily, Harley asked if I could come and see Achilles Complex quite some time back so this date was locked in.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium
22 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Lay It To Rest
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not unusual for me to have conversations with music lovers which revolve around me attempting to convince them there is a vibrant and exciting music scene in Aotearoa as sometimes it feels like I am coming across a wonderful new band on a daily basis, and here is another. I am sure if Medusa Glare were an Auckland act as opposed to being from the ‘Tron I would have come across them long before now, but given they were formed back in 2014 there really is no excuse on missing out on this classic hard rock band until now.
Read More...
PolarisRadio - Album Review: Legend of the Broken Claw
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was not too sure what to expect from PolarisRadio, which is the pseudonym for Dean Moroney, but I am pretty sure this wasn’t it! Dean’s music is normally described as Synthwave, and in some respects that still fits as here we have an instrumental album which appears to be based on a video game, yet while there are some tracks (such as Sea of Stars) which are solidly sat within that genre, there are plenty of others which do not.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem