30 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dub Asylum - Album Review: Beg, Steel or Borrow

18 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I have no idea who many albums I have reviewed over the last 35 years, but it is countless thousands, while the words written are well into the millions, but I must confess this is the first time I have ever been asked to review an album where steel drums are the main instrument, let alone when they are being used to play dub versions of Kiwi classics! The man behind Dub Asylum is Peter McLennan, who formed this project after leaving reggae-thrash-punk-ska outfit Hallelujah Picassos in the Nineties. He has been releasing music under this name since then, although I think this is his first album for a while. Apparently, the concept for this came to Peter when he started wondering if there were any New Zealand songs covered on steel drums and when he could not find any he decided to do his own which has involved him undertaking arrangements for songs by OMC, Herbs, The Clean, The Scavengers, Bic Runga, Screaming Meemees, Sir Dave Dobbyn, and more.

Any Kiwi will recognise these songs as they grew up with them, and while some songs lend themselves better to this treatment than others it is surprising to me just how well they all work. The steel drums often take the vocal line (these are all instrumental), while the arrangements have also now switched into dub. I must confess to not knowing much music featuring steel drums, while dub is not a genre I would normally listen to, so I am not so much lost here as having been transported to a different planet. But, and it is a big “but”, this is incredibly clever and really does work. The opener is one of the two highlights, namely OMC’s How Bizarre which in many ways is the closest in terms of arrangements to the original, and Peter must also be pleased with this as there is a different mix also available which closes the album, bookending it nicely. The other song which stands out is Slice of Heaven, although I must confess I am not sure if that is because it is possibly my favourite Kiwi song of all time. Here he takes the funkiness and reggae of Herbs, blends it with delicate synths, adds percussion and the steels to take something which pays homage to the original, taking it in a new direction. The one which surprised me most is Royals, which has become something incredibly dramatic indeed, with loads of space in the arrangement, and given one cannot imagine the original being treated in this manner it comes across incredibly well.

This will not be to everyone’s tastes, but it is thoroughly enjoyable and well worthy of further investigation to anyone who wants to listen a little outside the box.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Dub Asylum

Dub Asylum is the latest musical alias for Peter McLennan, former member of 90s reggae-thrash-punk-ska mutants the Hallelujah Picassos. Dub Asylum is a musical mash-up of dub reggae, hip hop and funk, genres that weigh heavy on Peter's ears. "I like a tune that throws sweet melodies in your earholes and shakes your ass at the same time," he explains.

Dub Asylum continues on with many of the musical elements present in the Picassos sound, taking them on a more electronic bent. Mixing up scratchy old hip hop drum loops and samples with dubbed out guitar and keyboards, Dub Asylum cook it all up in a massive sonic stew that is guaranteed one hundred per cent colesterol-free, and full of your daily vitamin requirements.

Peter was in the Picassos from 1988 til 1995, when he left the band. They released two albums, 'Hateman in Love' and 'Drinking with Judas', an EP and a bunch of singles. Peter also directed several music videos for the Picassos. He has been playing music since high school, starting out in a band called The Worst. "Well, the name was apt", he muses. Hindsight, aint it grand? (The other 2 members of The Worst were Troy Ferguson, now a bFM DJ and music writer, and Jim Abbott, who lives in London these days and plays in The Ghost Club, along with Dave Mitchell and Denise Roughan, ex 3Ds).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dub Asylum

Releases

She Dubs Me Remix
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Stereo Freeze
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Ba Ba Boom!
Year: 2008
Type: EP
She Dubs Me, She Dubs Me Not
Year: 2002
Type: Album
Dub Never Sleeps
Year: 1999
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
Gig Review: Achilles Complex @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 23/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I cannot believe I have not been at Dead Witch since the beginning of July, but there has been so much music going on that I kept having clashes. Luckily, Harley asked if I could come and see Achilles Complex quite some time back so this date was locked in.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium
22 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Lay It To Rest
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not unusual for me to have conversations with music lovers which revolve around me attempting to convince them there is a vibrant and exciting music scene in Aotearoa as sometimes it feels like I am coming across a wonderful new band on a daily basis, and here is another. I am sure if Medusa Glare were an Auckland act as opposed to being from the ‘Tron I would have come across them long before now, but given they were formed back in 2014 there really is no excuse on missing out on this classic hard rock band until now.
Read More...
PolarisRadio - Album Review: Legend of the Broken Claw
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was not too sure what to expect from PolarisRadio, which is the pseudonym for Dean Moroney, but I am pretty sure this wasn’t it! Dean’s music is normally described as Synthwave, and in some respects that still fits as here we have an instrumental album which appears to be based on a video game, yet while there are some tracks (such as Sea of Stars) which are solidly sat within that genre, there are plenty of others which do not.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem