6 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Silcrow - Single Review: Keep The Silence

15 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Silcrow will be a new name to many, it certainly was to me as it was only when I was arranging to see them play recently that I discovered this is the new name for Close to the Bone. I was aware of that band, but had not seen them play, although I had seen lead singer Lorenzo Hazlewood undertake an acoustic set. I came away from the Silcrow gig mightily impressed, loving the way that drummer Carl Stieller keeps it grounded while 5-string bassist Conor Sutton moves between supporting the drums and providing additional melody to guitarist Oscar Miller while at the front is Lorenzo. Needless to say, I was looking forward to this.

Gently picked guitar provides the introduction, before the bass plays a few delicate notes and then we are into multi-tracked guitars with the drums providing the foundation and then just as it all starts to get raucous the guitars drop away altogether, and Lorenzo is there singing the first verse. What strikes one immediately is the sheer confidence of all involved, as there are few rock bands who will dispense with the guitar for multiple bars before allowing it to come back in gently. There is far more passion in the chorus with harmony vocals and a threat from the guitars even though they are again being picked. The chorus ends with a few strident chords and then we are back to having Lorenzo upfront with the bass again providing the main melody and the link between the guitar and drums.

There is a huge amount of space in this recording, with the accompaniment often stepped back from the vocals to allow Lorenzo to take centre stage. By the time the arrangement becomes more dominant in the bridge the build has meant one is just waiting for something special to happen, but even the quick roll around the kit does not prepare us for the scream at the end and then it stops, dead. This is highly polished and demonstrates a rock band at the top of their game.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Silcrow

Previously known as Close To The Bone.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Silcrow

Releases

There are no releases to display for Silcrow.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem