6 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Anxiety Club - Album Review: Old Dreams

15 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

A little while back I was fortunate enough to hear the single Carousel, and now Wellington-based Anxiety Club are back with the album. As I said in the earlier review, due to various reasons Kev Fitzsimons (Thom Cross) and Clint Meech (Matt Langley band) found themselves as the only band members left, and with Kev suffering an injury which meant he could not play guitar they could either quit or bring in some others to help out. Luckily, they chose the latter and with the assistance of Chris Armour (Miles Calder band) on guitars, Andrew Bain (Fur Patrol) on bass and LA-based beat-maker Zach Simao the result is a polished debut which has a great deal of Eighties influences in its vocal-heavy pop album.

There are times when I think we are firmly back into the days of hairspray and shoulder pads, as the vocals are polished with keyboards and beats combining in the way we all remember, but these guys also have a wicked sense of humour so one is never sure what is going to come next. Take Lonely Dancing for example. It sounds like Spandau Ballet crossed with ABC, and then after about two minutes we get the sound of the internet!! Being an IT geek I have the sound of a modem connecting saved on my phone as a ringtone but must confess that I have never heard it put on a song before! Then there is Espresso Martini, which has rippling synths in the background (solid electro pop while over the top we have a voice of an automated fitness instructor who begins by providing encouragement before becoming quite vicious and finally giving up and telling the victim that the exercise is pointless and is the reason why their wife left them so they should just sit down and drink as espresso martini.

The vocals are clear, melodic, with keyboards always at the heart of every song, with the other elements added on top. Hey Hey Hey is one of the highlights with far more guitar and bass, and one can easily imagine this being changed into something quite different if the guys wanted to take it in a heavier direction, and is a wonderful pop number which surely is destined for the charts if released as a single as it is catchy and a real earworm. This is a nice pop album, with strong songs and arrangements which concentrate on the vocals, highly polished and well worth a listen.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Anxiety Club

Wellington band Anxiety Club have been performing their alt-country/indie-influenced “feel-good anthems of heartache and despair” around Aotearoa since 2016. Over that time they have played stages big and small, released a series of singles and EPs to much acclaim, made numerous appearances on radio, and won fans wherever they were heard.

The band originally bonded over a common love for alt-country, adding their own unique twist of indie alt-pop pop and grunge, with electronic influences. They made their mark with the singles Be Still and I Don’t Want Anyone (But You), alongside a series of triumphant shows, including their sold-out debut at The Wine Cellar in Auckland. They’ve also chalked up acclaimed performances at numerous New Zealand festivals and events, from Coastella and New Plymouth’s TSB Festival of Lights, to playing at Gardens Magic in Wellington.

In October 2018 Anxiety Club continued their winning streak with the release of their first studio-recorded EP Black Heart.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Anxiety Club

Releases

Francine
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Black Heart
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Live EP
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem