5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Landlords - EP Review: Codeine

12 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the second EP from Hamilton-based quartet Landlords containing five songs at approximately 20 minutes in length. Interestingly the band are signed with a UK label, something I only realised when I checked out their Bandcamp page and could not work out why prices were in sterling instead of NZD. I must confess this led me to the label site and I can see I need to order a t-shirt they have for sale as it’s awesome! Anyway, back to the band, and as this is available digitally on Bandcamp I had a look at the tags. This can be an interesting exercise, as it allows a listener to see how a band view themselves, and they have a label I have not come across before, “doomgaze”, yet as soon as I saw it, I realised that certainly in the context of this EP it makes total sense as Landlords do indeed play that subgenre of music. They have taken elements of shoegaze, especially the dreamy nature with loads of reverb on the guitars and vocals which are placed within the arrangement as opposed to on top of it, and then mixed it with doom to create something which is lighter than one would expect from that genre while also being heavier than the normal shoegaze style.

Bringing together two styles which are often atmospheric in nature means, unsurprisingly, that we have a very atmospheric collection and consequently this is a set which needs to be played on headphones to get the most out of it. Somewhat surprisingly I managed to be reminded of both Radiohead and The Tornados (whose single Sputnik was the first band single to get to #1 in America) yet always with the threat of something heavier coming along at any moment, especially when the vocals are played towards the background and the focus is on the riffed guitars. There can be one guitar and bass linked together, then this highly echoey lighter guitar overlaid on top, which creates a very different style indeed. This combination works well, and it will be interesting to hear if they manage to maintain this mix when playing live or if the heaviness takes over. They are certainly worthy of further investigation.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Landlords

Landlords are a four-piece alternative / slow rock band from Kirikiriroa / Hamilton, New Zealand.

Born in 2017 from various members of local hardcore / metal / punk bands, a trio of shoegaze / slow rock fans got together, and soon came a small collection of demo-ready shoegaze inspired songs.

The band soon started popping up in venues around the country, filling rooms with their driving, reverb-laden tunes. Their original bassist relocated to Melbourne for a year, but was soon back in New Zealand due to Covid, re-joining the band on guitar, making Landlords a 4-piece.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Landlords

Releases

There are no releases to display for Landlords.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem