5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Electric Tapestry - EP Review: The Origins EP

08 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Any group who say they are inspired by bands as diverse as The Beach Boys, Ladysmith Black Mambazo, King Crimson, Genesis, Van Halen, Radiohead, Crowded House, The Chills and Straitjacket Fits are going to be interesting to say the least, and with three guitarists in the line-up, they are going to have a distinctive sound. With this release, Electric Tapestry say they aim to mix the atmospherics of post rock with the immediacy and sensibilities of pop, and while I am not 100% sure if they have achieved this, they are certainly doing something different. For a while I did wonder if they were an instrumental outfit, as vocals do not appear at all in the first number, and only for a short period of time in the second, yet they are not missed as there is no doubt that these guys could operate in that manner if they wished. One of the bands I found they reminded me of was The Fierce and the Dead, who are also best known as an instrumental band who create sonic soundscapes and while TFATD operate more in a space rock area there are times when the fuzzed distorted guitar is heading in that direction.

Although the guys do have a recognisable overall sound, they definitely pursue different directions within these songs, as the rhythm section can be driving in one, or much quieter and reserved in another, and while Octavious sounds as if it could have come out of the Dunedin sound, Hole in the Head has way more in common with Syd Barrett and the early days of Pink Floyd as it is drenched in psychedelia. The guitars can be fairly straightforward and not too complex, or they can be interweaving different threads, and at all times there is plenty of space within the arrangements (quite difficult when there are six players) and a real sense of naivety. It feels really loose, but not in a bad way, just that they are all relaxed and bringing it all together without any stress or fuss. While coming out of left field, there are still some wonderfully melodic moments which are interesting (love the jangly piano) although I do get the impression, they are much louder when playing as there is a powerful rock element which in the recording is kept somewhat in check. Distorted guitar can be set up against an acoustic and somehow it all works. Interesting.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Electric Tapestry

Created out of a desire to combine the atmospherics of post rock with the immediacy and sensibilities of pop, Electric Tapestry weave together a wide range of elements from a variety of genres to achieve a unique sound.

Three very different guitar players founded the band out of frustration with their previous musical groups, and decided to fully utilise their numerous effects pedals to create rhythmic noises, echoing harmonies and sonic washes to fill their soundscape. Riding atop this wave of sound can be heard familiar melodies from music originating from disparate styles across the decades of rock.

The shimmering Dunedin jangle sound is often utilised, in combination with occasional funk rhythms. Meanwhile, vocal lines that are reminiscent of South African pop can be heard from either of the two vocalists, only to be interrupted by layers of warm fuzz, crystalline blues lines à la David Gilmour, or a heavy metal lead guitar lead. The band is inspired by groups as diverse as The Beach Boys, Ladysmith Black Mambazo, King Crimson, Genesis, Van Halen, Radiohead; not to mention New Zealand bands such as Crowded House, The Chills and Straitjacket Fits.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Electric Tapestry

Releases

The Origins EP
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem