15 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Black Sands - Album Review: Black Sands

08 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Black Sands are a real rarity in that they are a totally instrumental act, and while they bring in plenty of progressive tendencies, they are always first and foremost a metal band. The band started life as a duo of Cameron Owens (guitars) and James Trimmer (drums), with Ruaidri Keens (guitars) joining later and it was only when they went into the studio with producer/engineer Matt Hammond who then offered his services on 5-string bass that they ended up as a quartet. I have been fortunate enough to see these guys play a few times in Auckland, while Matt is also incredibly active in other bands such as On Tick and Pale Flag and I last caught up with James was when he was playing in Moshpitt. This is an album which has been finished, or at least virtually finished, for a very long time indeed and is now finally coming out almost a year on from when I expected to hear it, but at long last it is here.

It is hard to describe the core sound of the band as while they do have plenty of mathcore in their arsenal there is also djent and technical death as well as prog metal, so it is a real mixed bag. What is certain is that there is often a great deal of notes to the bar while the lack of vocals is not an issue as there is no room for them to be wedged into the arrangements. Matt often plays as if he is on guitar as opposed to bass, just hitting the melody that much lower in the register, which in many ways means James has a lot of space to work with as the drums are quite separate to the rest. This allows for a wide variety of styles, as the mild-mannered individual turns into Animal when he is placed behind the kit, being one of the heaviest hitters around, while also somehow providing plenty of finesse within his bombast. He provides a firm foundation for the others to build on, but as that foundation is rarely static it also means the guitars and bass are also in flux, providing fluidity and plenty of change.

Of all the songs on the album, the one to which I return to most often is Apocalypse of Eden as there is something on the rough attack which really appeals to me, but I am always aware this may be due to it being released as a single at Christmas and I am familiar with it. There are plenty of highlights there, and the tightness of approach in The Abrogation is very special indeed. I certainly hope to catch these guys live again in the near future as they are a heck of an act, as this album clearly demonstrates.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Black Sands

Soon to release their upcoming debut album, Black Sands are a 4-piece instrumental quartet from Auckland, New Zealand. With a foundation of melodic death metal, Black Sands blend a variety of styles to bring a complex and heavy sound. With massive energy live performances Black Sands are a band worth checking out.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Black Sands

Releases

For Me
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem