5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

felix danilo. - Album Review: The Territories West

07 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

The latest album by Felix Danilo finds him exploring different musical textures where the main (and often only) instrument is a multi-layered guitar full of reverb. Although the album is mostly instrumental, he is joined by singer Kayla McGee one song, and by his SkeletonCrew bandmate Nicole Obren on two others. With the guitar he provides repeated themes and gentle melodies which take us back to a time where the electric guitar played in this manner was the height of popular music and bands such as The Shadows ruled the charts. He does bring in additional instruments where it makes sense, as well as some sound clips which definitely push us into more Western areas, and while there are a multitude of styles being portrayed here, there is always a concentration on restraint and melody as opposed to being a shredder’s paradise. With the move more to guitar slingers such as Steve Vai, Joe Satriani and Yngwie Malmsteen in the last few decades this is a very different approach indeed, much more reliant on feel and ambience as opposed to sheer speed and numbers such as By His Fathers Grave certainly owe a great deal to Hank Marvin.

The few vocal tracks do take this album in a quite different direction, and a special mention must be made of Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down) which is treated in a far gentler and slower manner than the original. Although there are some keyboards delicately overlaid, I do get the impression this was recorded live in the studio with Nicole and Felix responding to each other as the timing is wonderfully off here and there which gives this life and energy while staying restrained. Kayla’s voice is very different, and the wonderfully picked and reverbed guitar works very well indeed on Heartlands which in some ways is dream pop, and others still Western, with the guitar often the most prominent sound.

But for the most part this an instrumental album, one which wants to take us on a journey through the Wild West with its evocative soundscapes which often feel like a cinematic journey, except for your ears and it is up to the listener to make of it what they will and fill in the pictures in their mind. Overall this is a well-paced album which lets the guitar provide the melody without ever losing sight of the importance and relationship of the notes to each other.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About felix danilo.

felix danilo. is a young, ever-evolving, independent musician based in Wellington, New Zealand. With each project he ventures into a new sonic landscape. From ambient, chillwave, house, rock, metal, lofi, and more.

Felix has also worked under the name with vocalist Nicole Obren. He plays a variety of instruments, composing indie rock, atmospheric/ ambient, and house.

He has been playing guitar for over 10 years and has achieved a Licentiate level diploma with the London College of Music. He has played and performed in a number of bands, reaching the Rockquest regional finals, winning the Battle of the Teen Bands, and toured with Elemeno P and Jordan Luck.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for felix danilo.

Releases

He Who Lives Behind The Moon
Year: 2022
Type: EP
E B E
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Moonscapes II
Year: 2022
Type: EP
The Territories West
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Moonscapes
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Bow Your Head...
Year: 2021
Type: EP
And Transmit To The Sky
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem