24 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

felix danilo. - Album Review: The Territories West

07 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

The latest album by Felix Danilo finds him exploring different musical textures where the main (and often only) instrument is a multi-layered guitar full of reverb. Although the album is mostly instrumental, he is joined by singer Kayla McGee one song, and by his SkeletonCrew bandmate Nicole Obren on two others. With the guitar he provides repeated themes and gentle melodies which take us back to a time where the electric guitar played in this manner was the height of popular music and bands such as The Shadows ruled the charts. He does bring in additional instruments where it makes sense, as well as some sound clips which definitely push us into more Western areas, and while there are a multitude of styles being portrayed here, there is always a concentration on restraint and melody as opposed to being a shredder’s paradise. With the move more to guitar slingers such as Steve Vai, Joe Satriani and Yngwie Malmsteen in the last few decades this is a very different approach indeed, much more reliant on feel and ambience as opposed to sheer speed and numbers such as By His Fathers Grave certainly owe a great deal to Hank Marvin.

The few vocal tracks do take this album in a quite different direction, and a special mention must be made of Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down) which is treated in a far gentler and slower manner than the original. Although there are some keyboards delicately overlaid, I do get the impression this was recorded live in the studio with Nicole and Felix responding to each other as the timing is wonderfully off here and there which gives this life and energy while staying restrained. Kayla’s voice is very different, and the wonderfully picked and reverbed guitar works very well indeed on Heartlands which in some ways is dream pop, and others still Western, with the guitar often the most prominent sound.

But for the most part this an instrumental album, one which wants to take us on a journey through the Wild West with its evocative soundscapes which often feel like a cinematic journey, except for your ears and it is up to the listener to make of it what they will and fill in the pictures in their mind. Overall this is a well-paced album which lets the guitar provide the melody without ever losing sight of the importance and relationship of the notes to each other.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About felix danilo.

felix danilo. is a young, ever-evolving, independent musician based in Wellington, New Zealand. With each project he ventures into a new sonic landscape. From ambient, chillwave, house, rock, metal, lofi, and more.

Felix has also worked under the name with vocalist Nicole Obren. He plays a variety of instruments, composing indie rock, atmospheric/ ambient, and house.

He has been playing guitar for over 10 years and has achieved a Licentiate level diploma with the London College of Music. He has played and performed in a number of bands, reaching the Rockquest regional finals, winning the Battle of the Teen Bands, and toured with Elemeno P and Jordan Luck.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for felix danilo.

Releases

Afterwards, Oblivion
Year: 2023
Type: Album
He Who Lives Behind The Moon
Year: 2022
Type: EP
The Territories West
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Moonscapes II
Year: 2022
Type: EP
E B E
Year: 2022
Type: EP
And Transmit To The Sky
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Bow Your Head...
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Moonscapes
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • SATURN
    SZA
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem