5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

One Man Bannister - Album Review: The Saddest Noise

05 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

One Man Bannister is the name used by Hamilton-based Matthew Banister when he is not performing in one of his bands such as Sneaky Feelings or The Changing Same, and this is his latest album. It is somewhat unusual in that for the 16 songs he took poems written by Emily Dickinson (1830-1886) and then put them to music. This may be a somewhat unusual approach but there are various artists who work in a similar manner, most notably Elton John who when presented with lyrics or poetry can instantly come up with both accompaniment and vocal melody. This album is not completely solo, as although he provides most of the instrumentation and lead vocals, he is joined by his partner Alice Bulmer on bass, along with two members of the ukulele group he plays in – Tangi Habib and Melissa Hackell – who provide harmony vocals.

Although folk, particularly English-style folk, is often at the heart of this album it covers a multitude of other genres utilising many influences so there are bits of jazz here, blues there, Latin over yonder. There are moments when he reminds me of one of the most important English songwriters and performers from the folk movement, The Guv’nor, Ashley Hutchings. It is less about the arrangements but more about some of the vocal stylings and the way there is such a concentration on the words, particularly on some of the more traditional songs such as It Was Not Death, For I Stood Up and A Narrow Fellow In The Grass.

The poems are short, and instead of messing about with them Matthew has kept them as they are, which means that in an album lasting less than 40 minutes there is still room for 16, which also means he has plenty of room to shift his styles so he can give each one the attention it deserves. There are some wonderfully dated keyboards utilised on Success Is Counted Sweetest, While We Were Fearing It (is that a Mellotron I hear?) and the result is a number which could have been released during the Summer of Love some 55 years ago. An electric guitar is used here and there throughout the album, but sparingly, as the concentration is often on an acoustic while he channels his Beatles influences.

An interesting concept, and a result which will be enjoyable for many.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About One Man Bannister

One Man Bannister is the solo name of Matthew Bannister, when he's not playing in his other bands, Sneaky Feelings and the Changing Same. He has released 5 albums, Moth (2008), Evolver (2013) (reinterpretation of Beatles Revolver), Birds and Bees (2015), a collection of B-sides and rarities, Rubber Solo (2019) (another Beatles reinterpretation) and The Saddest Noise (2022), based on Emily Dickinson poems. Everything is recorded solo, but usually a band is involved for live performances.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for One Man Bannister

Releases

The Saddest Noise
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem