5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Goldsmith Baynes - Album Review: E Rere Ra

01 Sep 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Earlier this year I was fortunate to be asked to review To Ihu, one of the four singles to be made available from this album so far, and I was just blown away by what I was hearing. Allana Goldsmith is a classic jazz songstress with warm and embracing vocals while Mark Baynes is a compassionate and empathetic accompanist on the piano, and together they create the bedrock of a very special experience indeed. For the recording sessions they utilised the skills of Hikurangi Schaverien-Kaa (drums), Alex Griffith (electric bass), Tom Dennison (bass), Riki Bennett (Taongo Puoro), Cameron Allen (saxophones), Jono Tan (trombone) and Mike Booth (trumpet and horn arrangement), but never to the detriment to the core sound, building on it but not overwhelming it.

Alanna and Mark have been working together for more than ten years and it shows in this wonderfully enjoyable soft jazz release. As the singer, Alanna will often take the centre stage more than Mark, yet there are also times when he shows off his skills with sections where he takes the lead, sometimes on piano and others on an electric. Jazz is a global style, and the only style of music I ever heard my dad play for pleasure when I was growing up, so is a genre I have always held a close affection for, and when it is as good as this all one wants to do is sit back with the headphones on and relax into the arms of its friendly sound.

Alanna is from are Ngati Porou and Ngai Tai, and the majority of this album is performed in Te Reo, taking both the language and the genre into new areas. I have always felt that Te Reo is an incredibly musical language in its own right, as folk duo Aro clearly demonstrate on their releases, and here we have a singer and accompanist who embrace that and deliver artistry which is incredibly powerful and inviting. Although the songs are all within the soft jazz style, this still covers a lot of different areas and where horns may be a focal point in one song, it could be electric guitar on another while at times Alanna is singing clear and free, whereas at others she has multi-layered harmonies on top.

To Ihu is probably still my favourite on the album, but that may well be just because I played it so many times when it was released. A special mention should be made of Te Reo, where Alanna sounds incredible vulnerable, the piano provides rippling sequences behind, the percussion is both restrained and dramatic, the bass warm and melodious and then cries in the background remind us just where this has come from. This is a very special album indeed, one to be played when one has the time to really listen and fall into their special world.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Goldsmith Baynes

The Goldsmith Baynes project is a celebration between two musical souls. The talented pair have worked together for over 10 years and their musical bond comes from freedom, a shared trust, and mutual respect. Goldsmith and Baynes have written a stunning collection of songs together, which will culminate in a debut album to be released late this year.

Goldsmith Baynes have performed at renowned festivals including the Waiheke Jazz Festival and Tauranga International Jazz Festival, and have been programmed for the 2022 Auckland Arts Festival. They also were invited to perform at the recent Aotearoa Music Awards 2021.

An exciting new project created by the renowned jazz artists Allana Goldsmith and Mark Baynes with vocals containing a beautiful mix of Maori and English language, their debut single Tipuna was released last year and featured on the Waiata Anthems 2021 compilation. A wonderful collaboration between two modern favourites of the jazz world, Goldsmith's soulful jazz vocal combines with British pianist Baynes' contemporary jazz stylings to produce this truly uplifting and remarkable record.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Goldsmith Baynes

Releases

E Rere Ra
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem