8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws

31 Aug 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast. The Sloths have climbed down from their tree to present to you their second full-length album, Claws. Claws is abundant with vibrant soundscapes, lyrical prowess and many auditory twists and turns within each song. It plays cohesively as a body of work that encompasses more genres than you can wave a branch at!

And it's true. Right from the start of the album Give It All Away it feels like you have stepped into an East-Asian garden with the pan flutes welcoming you in. But quickly, you know that is not where you are. Sick flows that just easily come floating your way showcases the skill of these MC's. Backed up with a funky band, this opening track sets the tone.

But moments later you start to feel some more NZ Drum and Bass coming your way. Pretty much you want to just stop what you are doing, get up and dance to it. The group understands space in music and that is evident here and on many other tracks like We Don't Know where for the first part of the song there is some lo-fi rapping before the music takes over and becomes the focus. Like on Looking Up with its tasty guitar solo work at the end.

The album has a vision and an idea of bringing together all sorts of the NZ Hip Hop and Electronica sounds laid down by groups like Supergroove and Shapeshifter while mainly staying completely original. You can definitely hear and identify where their influences are in you pay close attention. And it's not just NZ artists here that I could reference. It just goes to show the care to detail that Seaside Sloths has put into this body of work.

With its cool twist on the cover of the movie Jaws, the whole package has personality written all over it. Definitely one to chill out to on one of the many upcoming sunny days.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Seaside Sloths

Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast. The Sloths have climbed down from their tree to present to you their second full-length album, Claws.

Claws is abundant with vibrant soundscapes, lyrical prowess and many auditory twists and turns within each song. It plays cohesively as a body of work that encompasses more genres than you can wave a branch at!

With Claws released on 12 August 2022 and a bunch more live shows on the horizon, Slothmania is sweeping the nation at a rate that is anything but slow!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Seaside Sloths

Releases

Claws
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Fear and Slothing in Sloth Vegas
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience
22 Nov 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats.
Read More...
Eliezer - Single Review: Certified Professional Dreamer
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is back after a little while with his new track Certified Professional Dreamer. Produced with long-time collaborator Ten Oh, the track continues to show why Eliezer is name you need to stay aware of.
Read More...
Teazse - Single Review: Love, Money Or Drugs
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Teazse, an independent rap artist from Auckland, brings a lot of what people like about modern hip hop and brings it into his own world, while still acknowledging the sound of those that came before. For example, the sampled pitched voice works well when used well, and it's done here well.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental.
Read More...
Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem