5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Matt Joe Gow - Gig Review: Matt Joe Gow @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 21/08/2022

22 Aug 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

So, it was off into central Auckland for my third consecutive gig, this time to Wine Cellar to see country musician Matt Joe Gow on the final date of his NZ tour, where every gig had sold out. Given how difficult the market is at present, which has been some vindication for Matt, and it was no surprise he was happy with how things had gone. This was my first time at this venue for a solo acoustic act, and it was strange to see it set up seated, very different indeed to what I usually experience here, and the space worked very well indeed in this manner.

There is nothing more honest than a solo musician with an acoustic instrument, as there is no place whatsoever to hide, but Matt was very much at home, and kicked off the evening with Come To Mama. He was playing quite forcefully here, with a hard strike on the acoustic, yet was already creating loads of presence and atmosphere. He has a wonderfully detailed and rich voice which is packed with emotion, and he can also add a rasp when he wishes. Given he normally performs with a full band he is also very much at home in this environment. This was followed by Flowers In Your Hair, a song which originally appeared on 7 Years as a male/female duet and is bouncy and full of energy while the use of harmonica gave this quite a different feel. The audience were really with him, hanging on every note, and when he played more upbeat numbers such as Steady Life there was a reaction so that even though everyone was seated there was definite movement. We were being treated to quite a few different styles with Matt switching to finger picking at times, but whatever he was doing he was always in full control. He is one of those musicians who falls deep inside the spell of his own music, often playing with his eyes closed as he generates a world of grace and majesty, taking us with him as he is transported away.

Matt has a new album coming out later this year, and he played a few tunes from it, including the latest single, 'Til My Whole Heart Bursts. I really enjoyed that release, and to hear it now performed live in this stripped back format showed what a very good song it is indeed. Matt laughingly joked that one of the benefits of playing music for a long time is that it is possible to write sequels to songs, and then he played Sweet Collapse which is a follow-on to Georgia Rose. Some of the songs were being performed in a very different manner to how he plays them with a band, although it did give him much more latitude with some of his timing, yet he was always relaxed and very much at home. He was incredibly engaged with the audience, and it felt more that he was playing some music for old friends as opposed to being in a venue, able to be right in your face or delicate and emotional. His use of harmonica was sparse, but when utilised he could really make it cry.

There was a lot of interaction with the audience, and near the end of the set he was asked by multiple people for different songs, but instead he decided to do a cover which he recorded a few years ago (when people had taste, apparently), and I was very surprised to hear him perform Running Up That Hill (A Deal with God). That is not a song I would ever have thought could work in this format, and the first verse felt quite different indeed, but it definitely came alive on the chorus which just shows a great song can be arranged in very different ways indeed. He finished the main set with an emotional Break, Rattle and Roll which had been slowed right down. There was a huge amount of passion and expression in his voice, and this song really took us on a journey.

There is no backstage at Wine Cellar, and he would have had to walk through the audience and then waited outside for the encore, so by mutual assent it was agreed the set was finished, but when people cried out for more, he agreed to play one more song. This was Between Tonight and Tomorrow, which is the title of the new album, and fingerpicked and delicate was the perfect end to the night. That is the second time I have seen Matt play and yet again it was an absolute delight from beginning to end. I am so looking forward to the album.


Photo credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Matt Joe Gow

Matt Joe Gow grew up in the deep south of New Zealand, in a town with bad weather and great music; the birthplace of groups such as The Chills, The Clean and Straitjacket Fits. Surrounded by music, he was encouraged to pick up a guitar from a young age. After traveling the world, Matt moved to Melbourne, Australia, drawn by its culture and vibrant music scene. He formed a band, The Dead Leaves and in 2009 released his debut record The Messenger, produced by multi-Aria award-winner Nash Chambers, and featuring contributions from Jim Moginie of Midnight Oil, and iconic Australian country guitarist Bill Chambers.

As alternative country and Americana continued to grow in popularity, Matt steadily toured and supported acts such as Chris Isaak, The Jayhawks, Justin Townes Earle, James Reyne, Kasey Chambers, Marlon Williams, Jimmy Barnes, Mark Seymour and John Butler.

Whilst regularly making demos and working on other projects in the studio, it would be 2016 before the next Matt Joe Gow record, Seven Years, was released to critical acclaim. The record was self-produced by Matt and guitarist Andrew Pollock. After touring and playing numerous festivals in support of the record, and encouraged by its positive reception, Matt returned to the studio in 2018 to make the follow-up, Break, Rattle and Roll. An ambitious record with keys, horns, pedal steel and backing vocalists supplementing the core band, it was again released to wide acclaim and accolades including the Music Victoria Award for Best Country/Americana Album Of The Year. In addition to full band shows, Matt undertook a solo tour with Grant-Lee Phillips, with Phillips posting that [Break, Rattle and Roll's] "Bridge Over Concrete is on constant rotation in my head!".

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Matt Joe Gow

Releases

Break, Rattle and Roll
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Seven Years
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Messenger
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem