25 Mar 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Matt Joe Gow - Gig Review: Matt Joe Gow @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 21/08/2022

22 Aug 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

So, it was off into central Auckland for my third consecutive gig, this time to Wine Cellar to see country musician Matt Joe Gow on the final date of his NZ tour, where every gig had sold out. Given how difficult the market is at present, which has been some vindication for Matt, and it was no surprise he was happy with how things had gone. This was my first time at this venue for a solo acoustic act, and it was strange to see it set up seated, very different indeed to what I usually experience here, and the space worked very well indeed in this manner.

There is nothing more honest than a solo musician with an acoustic instrument, as there is no place whatsoever to hide, but Matt was very much at home, and kicked off the evening with Come To Mama. He was playing quite forcefully here, with a hard strike on the acoustic, yet was already creating loads of presence and atmosphere. He has a wonderfully detailed and rich voice which is packed with emotion, and he can also add a rasp when he wishes. Given he normally performs with a full band he is also very much at home in this environment. This was followed by Flowers In Your Hair, a song which originally appeared on 7 Years as a male/female duet and is bouncy and full of energy while the use of harmonica gave this quite a different feel. The audience were really with him, hanging on every note, and when he played more upbeat numbers such as Steady Life there was a reaction so that even though everyone was seated there was definite movement. We were being treated to quite a few different styles with Matt switching to finger picking at times, but whatever he was doing he was always in full control. He is one of those musicians who falls deep inside the spell of his own music, often playing with his eyes closed as he generates a world of grace and majesty, taking us with him as he is transported away.

Matt has a new album coming out later this year, and he played a few tunes from it, including the latest single, 'Til My Whole Heart Bursts. I really enjoyed that release, and to hear it now performed live in this stripped back format showed what a very good song it is indeed. Matt laughingly joked that one of the benefits of playing music for a long time is that it is possible to write sequels to songs, and then he played Sweet Collapse which is a follow-on to Georgia Rose. Some of the songs were being performed in a very different manner to how he plays them with a band, although it did give him much more latitude with some of his timing, yet he was always relaxed and very much at home. He was incredibly engaged with the audience, and it felt more that he was playing some music for old friends as opposed to being in a venue, able to be right in your face or delicate and emotional. His use of harmonica was sparse, but when utilised he could really make it cry.

There was a lot of interaction with the audience, and near the end of the set he was asked by multiple people for different songs, but instead he decided to do a cover which he recorded a few years ago (when people had taste, apparently), and I was very surprised to hear him perform Running Up That Hill (A Deal with God). That is not a song I would ever have thought could work in this format, and the first verse felt quite different indeed, but it definitely came alive on the chorus which just shows a great song can be arranged in very different ways indeed. He finished the main set with an emotional Break, Rattle and Roll which had been slowed right down. There was a huge amount of passion and expression in his voice, and this song really took us on a journey.

There is no backstage at Wine Cellar, and he would have had to walk through the audience and then waited outside for the encore, so by mutual assent it was agreed the set was finished, but when people cried out for more, he agreed to play one more song. This was Between Tonight and Tomorrow, which is the title of the new album, and fingerpicked and delicate was the perfect end to the night. That is the second time I have seen Matt play and yet again it was an absolute delight from beginning to end. I am so looking forward to the album.


Photo credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Matt Joe Gow

Matt Joe Gow grew up in the deep south of New Zealand, in a town with bad weather and great music; the birthplace of groups such as The Chills, The Clean and Straitjacket Fits. Surrounded by music, he was encouraged to pick up a guitar from a young age. After traveling the world, Matt moved to Melbourne, Australia, drawn by its culture and vibrant music scene. He formed a band, The Dead Leaves and in 2009 released his debut record The Messenger, produced by multi-Aria award-winner Nash Chambers, and featuring contributions from Jim Moginie of Midnight Oil, and iconic Australian country guitarist Bill Chambers.

As alternative country and Americana continued to grow in popularity, Matt steadily toured and supported acts such as Chris Isaak, The Jayhawks, Justin Townes Earle, James Reyne, Kasey Chambers, Marlon Williams, Jimmy Barnes, Mark Seymour and John Butler.

Whilst regularly making demos and working on other projects in the studio, it would be 2016 before the next Matt Joe Gow record, Seven Years, was released to critical acclaim. The record was self-produced by Matt and guitarist Andrew Pollock. After touring and playing numerous festivals in support of the record, and encouraged by its positive reception, Matt returned to the studio in 2018 to make the follow-up, Break, Rattle and Roll. An ambitious record with keys, horns, pedal steel and backing vocalists supplementing the core band, it was again released to wide acclaim and accolades including the Music Victoria Award for Best Country/Americana Album Of The Year. In addition to full band shows, Matt undertook a solo tour with Grant-Lee Phillips, with Phillips posting that [Break, Rattle and Roll's] "Bridge Over Concrete is on constant rotation in my head!".

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Matt Joe Gow

Releases

Between Tonight & Tomorrow
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Break, Rattle and Roll
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Seven Years
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Messenger
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Shepherds Reign - Single Review: Ua Masa’a
23 Mar 2023 // by Kev Rowland
When it comes to different cultures and music there is no doubt we are incredibly blessed in Aotearoa, and surely anyone into metal, wherever they are in the world, are aware of Alien Weaponry and the way they blend groove metal and their Maori roots. However, what may not be known by those outside New Zealand is that there is another band down here who are also making huge waves in their own country, Shepherds Reign.
Read More...
Brawler NZHC - EP Review: Hard Truths
23 Mar 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Over the last 12 months I have been fortunate enough to catch Hamilton hardcore outfit Brawler NZHC a few times, and although I have always been a little concerned that singer Joe Steiner is going to pass out before he finally removes the balaclava, I always know we are in for a high energy show with plenty of angst and passion. They have also impressed NZ hardcore royalty along the way, with Luke Manson of Xile joining in on vocals for Pay The Price.
Read More...
Mice on Stilts - Album Review: I Am Proud of You
22 Mar 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Some ten years ago I was a member of the ProgArchives Crossover Team (yes, to be allowed to be included on PA each band is judged by a committee). We were asked to pass our critical eyes and ears over the somewhat strangely named Mice on Stilts and I was somewhat surprised, nay amazed, to discover they hailed from Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review #1: Homegrown 2023 @ Wellington Waterfront - 18/03/2023
19 Mar 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have been waiting for this festival for ages, well over 12 months in fact as last year’s had to be cancelled due to Covid, but finally it was here. I flew down to Wellington in the morning and caught up with the MNZ crew of Reef, River (read River's review here), Amanda, Garry, and Bevan for brunch: two reviewers and four photographers meant we were one of the largest media contingents at Homegrown 2023.
Read More...
On Tick - EP Review: Planet Chrome
17 Mar 2023 // by Kev Rowland
When On Tick released their debut album, Nothing New, towards the end of 2021 they were already in a state of change as it was recorded as a trio of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar) along with bassist Matt Hammond, who also produced it, but they had now brought in Matt Perry to play bass while Matt H had moved to lead guitar. In 2023 things have changed again as Matt H is now concentrating on Pale Flag, while Matt P is also not involved any longer, so it is back to just Brendan and Aidan.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - Single Review: Give 'Em Hell
16 Mar 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Written by Wolves may not have released any new material in 2022, but everyone knew the boys were working on their next album, and if you were fortunate enough to see them play then you will have already heard Give 'Em Hell as they were using this track as the opening number. In many ways this encapsulates everything which is Written By Wolves in one song – if you want to know why so many of us keep raving about them, then this will demonstrate why.
Read More...
Anthony Coulter - Single Review: Younger
16 Mar 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Anthony Coulter’s album Pilgrimage To the Sea, where he says he is not getting any younger, something I can really relate to given I am 60 in just a few months and certainly act a lot more than I used to. Mind you, I don’t think every day is the same, which is the same for Anthony who yearns to be younger.
Read More...
BAkeR - EP Review: Eternal Now
16 Mar 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Mike Baker has been involved in both the Australian and NZ music scenes since the Eighties, running the import/export operations for Australia’s Hot Records at one point, releasing an album himself as a member of Not Really Anything and also managing Glide. Last year he created his alter ego BAkeR and started recording this five-track EP, entitled Eternal Now, with Daniel Hewson (the son of the late Paul Hewson of Dragon).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BOY'S A LIAR PT. 2
    PinkPantheress And Ice Spice
  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • DIE FOR YOU (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • LAST NIGHT
    Morgan Wallen
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem