5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Adam Hattaway & The Haunters - Single Review: Salt

18 Aug 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Only nine months since their last album, and Adam and the band are back with the first single from the next, Bug Eyes, which is due out in November. Salt clearly shows that here we have a band who have paid their dues by working the circuit since they released their debut in 2018 and soon, they will be back with their fifth – the work ethic puts many other bands to shame. Their take on alt rock ‘n’ roll brings in plenty of Americana, and while Adam’s vocals are always front and centre, they are lifted by an accompaniment which is almost a wall of sound with some jangly guitars and staccato piano building around a rhythm section which keep it smooth and sweet with some fluid basslines. We get two verses before the chorus which is a total contrast to what has gone before, with the accompaniment dropping away and harmonies coming in. Then it is back to the accompaniment, but with some wonderful “Oohs” over the top and a restrained melodic guitar lead. 

The longer the song goes on the more Adam relaxes his vocals into it, allowing nuances and flecks to come in, providing an edge until the song slowly builds into a climactic mess of noise as it degenerates but then ends on a dime. If just one song is like this, what are we going to hear on the album? The breadth and depth is wonderful, and if you have yet to come across Adam Hattaway and the Haunters then this is a great place to start.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Adam Hattaway & The Haunters

Adam Hattaway and the Haunters (A.H.) are initiating a new generation into the temple of alt rock’n’roll. As a seasoned touring band with three studio albums, A.H. explore personal themes while weaving in universal motifs - star crossed lovers, losers, and lonesome travelers.

Forever shaking hands with heartache, Adam Hattaway lives close to the bone. From his home in Otautahi/Christchurch, he has earned an international reputation for sweltering hooks, high kicks, and raw, emotional narrative. A born front man, he deftly marries 60’s swagger with 21st century sensitivity.

The Haunters are Adam Hattaway (The Eastern, Wurld Series), Elmore Jones (3000AD, Katie Thompson), Liam Quinn, Tess Liautaud, Thomas Isbister (Deep Water Creek, No Broadcast) and Holdyn Skinner.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Adam Hattaway & The Haunters

Releases

Rooster
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Woolston, Texas
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Crying Lessons
Year: 2019
Type: Album
All Dat Love
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem