5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree

12 Aug 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and Cripple Mr. Onion (I really wish I had seen this band, as I remember watching a video of theirs years ago and being blown away). Rene has serious metal credentials in different genres, but anyone expecting the same bombast will be very surprised indeed.

 A while ago I reviewed the single The Dead of the Night, and I said how it was hugely atmospheric, and that it was as if Alabama 3 and Black Sabbath had combined to create an acoustic deathly gothic doom-laden number. The strange beauty of Alabama 3 is even more to the fore when one listens to the whole album as we get clips taken from films, sound effects, and one never knows where we are going to be taken, except it is a journey we all need to travel. In these days where music is often plastic and regurgitated so it all sounds the same, it is rare to come across something which is unique and being created by someone who felt compelled to produce something which is far removed from any commercial considerations. This is nothing like the music he plays in his bands, yet there is a depth and passion within which is magical. This is all about the space, and in many ways, it feels more like a collage than a single musical entity as it is the bits and pieces and different approaches which makes this what it is.

There is no rush, no desire to work to any formula apart from what Rene has in his head, as he takes us into the dark and twisted gnarly forest of his mind, yet instead of being frightened we feel welcome and safe. It is dark, fragile yet with an inner strength, and so far removed from the plasticity throwaway nature of modern pop as to be from a different planet. Take She’s a Witch for example, the main musical section of the song contains only a basic drum pattern, slow piano chords and vocals, yet there is something haunting about this, emphasised by Psycho strings and a film clip at the beginning. Grinning In Your Face is convict-style blues which could have been recorded 100 years ago, with passionate lead vocals, chains and so much pain.

Rene is also a well-known tattooist, and he has taken his love of imagery and captured it in an audio form. He describes this as “Dark, experimental soundscape of insanity. Loss, death, and re-birth,” and he has made this available free of charge through Bandcamp. For him this has never been about any sort of commercial return, but rather this was something he had to do, for which we should all be very grateful indeed as for those who enjoy their music to be somewhat more sedate with a hidden menace will find much in this.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Scapegoat

Rene Black's first solo offering comes under the guise of Scapegoat with an album entitled Reality and The Hanging Tree. Recorded over a two year period alongside friend and producer Nicky Smirk at Ghostlike Studios in East Auckland.

Formally known as the hard hitting drummer and founding member of blues rock legends His Masters Voice and long running prog metal mainstays Cripple Mr. Onion. Rene Black showcases his darkly experimental and often times stripped back musical approach, stepping out of his comfort zone, picking up the guitar for the first time and removing himself from the confinements of any particular genre.

Scapegoat often times resonates a cinematic musical approach, amidst a psychedelic haze of vintage movie samples. Melding dark, melancholic, acoustic songs of love, loss and despair with intelligently sampled atmospheric beats. Blended with a a strange array of eerie instrumentation leading the listener through. a dream-like soundscape of expression over perfection.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scapegoat

Releases

Reality and The Hanging Tree
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem