5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Caitlin - EP Review: States

12 Aug 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles. She says she has been heavily inspired by Julia Jacklin, Faye Webster, and Spacey Jane, yet she also brings in dream pop elements from the likes of Jazmine Mary while there are also hints of French For Rabbits and some folk. The result is five songs which are quite different yet linked, so while June has a more Latin feel, Let Me Down is more Flying Nun.

The arrangements are key as they contain plenty of space, so her vocals feel supported but never overwhelmed and it is a collection which is mature and seems far beyond her years until one realises both her parents are full-time musicians. She was recommended to Ryan as he is experienced in multiple genres and it is obvious that they are very much on the same wavelength as he has mixed and produced this with care, allowing Caitlin to always be the focus of attention but still allowing her vocals to contain innocence and naivety. The use of wavering and distorted guitar in the background of Kitchen is inspired, as while Caitlin is at her most delicate in the front (this song, out of all of them, is the one which can be imagined as just being vocals and acoustic guitar), there is a lot going on in the background which provides depth and breadth without ever changing the focus.

Somehow, they have managed to produce an EP which feels commercial and radio-friendly without compromising on the original ideals, and the result is something which listeners can enjoy the very first time of playing and yet get more from it as it is lived with.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Caitlin

Indie-pop artist Caitlin strikes listeners with her frank lyricism paired with soundscapes that support the honesty of her music. Caitlin was influenced by country and folk music growing up with her full-time musicians parents. Over the span of her career, she has been able to take the honest story-telling aspects of these genres and transfer them into a sound which she resonates with in the indie-pop genre.

Inspired by indie-pop sensations Julia Jacklin, Faye Webster and the New Zealand breakthrough indie dream-pop band There’s a Tuesday, the songwriter has defined her unique sound in the genre. After having great success with her debut pop single We’re Starting a Fire (2019) receiving over 100k listens, Caitlin is prepping to define her space in the Indie-pop genre with a new EP coming out in August 2022. Produced and mixed by Ryan Fisherman, Hardly is the first single of many to come with exciting new music not far around the corner for this young songwriter.

“I’m so excited to share this music I’ve been creating over the past year with Ryan Fisherman. It feels like a long time coming, and I’m finally ready to share my sound with the public. I hope people hear the passion and care that has gone into these upcoming releases.”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Caitlin

Releases

States
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem