14 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight

05 Aug 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations. In many ways this is totally different to the rest of the album, yet it also fits right in as this experimental pop continues all the way through, albeit in different styles. While Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band is an obvious reference, so are the likes of David Bowie, Peter Gabriel, Jonathan Richman, David Byrne and others who like to push the envelope.

The album is multi-layered, and the use of brass is inspired, while the guitar can be fractured, distorted, fuzzed, clear or acoustic and keyboards can be quite strange or just piano. Not all instruments are played at the same time, as they move in and out as the need arises, just with the vocals normally front and centre. It is not an easy listening album in anyway shape or form, yet the more it is played the more the listener starts to get inside the mind of Oliver and what he is attempting to achieve. It is like listening to a musical version of Dali, using a wide palette to create images which in some ways are recognisable, except they have melted and are not in their usual forms. When I first played this, I did not enjoy it a great deal, yet by the time I had finished listening to it all the way through I had quite a different opinion, and when I went through it again for the second time my views had changed considerably. It is music which will never sit comfortably on the radio, and will always be outside the mainstream view, but that is certainly not always a bad thing in my opinion.

The album takes time to understand and therefore enjoy, but for those who want their music to take a path less travelled, then this could well be of interest. That each song is quite independent of each other while staying closely related is also interesting. Given there is so much going on I think it is unlikely that Oliver will be able to form a band to play this live, but with this album it is something which does benefit from reflection in a quiet environment with little to disturb the listener.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Oliver Birch

Oliver Birch writes about existential angst, the gradual erosion of democracy, and having no friends. These concerns belie the varied, gorgeous, and hopeful instrumental palette utilised in his music, which covers several genres from new-wave, to jazz, to pop.

Every song is written, performed, and produced by Oliver, and each is a deeply personal offering that he shares hoping that others might find comfort in it.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Oliver Birch

Releases

Burning Daylight
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem