11 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Black Velvet Butterfly - Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly

03 Aug 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.” Now that is one heck of a statement and given my love of Pete Steele, I was definitely up for this. Would it have the menace of their earlier work such as The Origin of the Feces (Not Live at Brighton Beach) or the sheer brilliance of Life Is Killing Me? Actually, neither is true, as what we have here is something which is far more related to the Eighties UK alternative scene than the Goth metal giants of New York.

For this, their second album, James says possibly it is safe to say BVB make Goth adjacent music, i.e. music which Goths will enjoy, although for me this is more Goth-lite. Being a one-man band always contains inherent problems, such as rarely being a master of all instruments, and no external viewpoint, and that is definitely something this album suffers from, particularly with the programmed drums. There is also quite a concentration on keyboards, with the guitars sounding a long way off in the background, even though there are plenty of riffs being provided. In many ways, the band BVB most remind me of is Bauhaus, but without the menace one would expect, yet with the same use of space. Some of the songs contain lyrics which are more than just innuendo and are supposed to be either funny or horrific, but miss the mark on both accounts.

The production means that the instruments rarely shine, and the vocals do not have the presence one would expect with this style of music, nor the gravitas. The result is something which would not have sounded out of place more than 30 years ago, and while there are Goth influences here and there, it never contains the melancholy and pain of bands like The Cure, now the angst or dynamism of The Banshees. The fantastic cover artwork is from Scott Jackson, and promises an album of some delight, but unfortunately for me, the music fails to deliver, and the result it's a middle of the road release with a few Gothic overtones here and there.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Black Velvet Butterfly

Dark Rock from Auckland. Influenced by Type O Negative, Ghost, Marilyn Manson, Tool, David Bowie, Gary Numan, Nine Inch Nails, Blutengel, Chris Pohl and A Perfect Circle.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Black Velvet Butterfly

Releases

There are no releases to display for Black Velvet Butterfly.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem