8 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began

01 Aug 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album. Having not heard the other releases, I cannot say whether they are full band releases or solo, but on this one he provides (guitar, drums, keyboards, vocals) and he is joined by Emily Allen (violin, viola, string arrangements), James Currie (bass), and Evy Vermeire (vocals). I started smiling after about 30 seconds of this album, settled back, and allowed myself to be transported on a collection of ten wonderful songs which are a mix of English folk and traditional singer/songwriter.

Based strongly on the vocals of Bill and his picked guitar, the other musicians are used in different combinations so Evy may not be on every song, nor Emily, although James is a constant. He played with Bill back in the UK, and they have a wonderful understanding, so much so that James uses his instrument to provide underlying melodies as opposed to a 'standard' bass. It is also kept at the right level in the mix, so it never dominates, and he is adept at using the higher registers to create something special. Evy has a delicate voice, harmonising with Bill when the time is right, while Emily adds wonderful string which add to the depth of the accompaniment.

However, this is just icing on what is a very rich caked indeed, with Bill’s wonderful vocals and style, and I can easily imagine him performing with the likes of Davey Dodds, The Albion Band, Show of Hands or even Oysterband, while music such as this cries out to be heard at the mighty Cropredy Festival.

There is very little percussion, which combined with the delicate and highly placed bass means it is often Bill’s vocals which are the dominant force, with the rest of the instruments placed around it to lift it up and never smother it. One can imagine this being performed in the studio with the musicians looking at each other while they played (although given James is in Brisbane) that is probably unlikely. Most of the music is laidback and restrained, but the title track starts with some wonderful bass, and then we are off into a number of multiple parts which is somewhat quicker in tempo than the others.

This is a delightful album which any lover of modern English-style folk will do well to seek out, and I am already looking to see when I catch him in concert.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways

Bill spent the formative years of his adult life dedicated to the idea that making music was a beautiful and honorable thing to do, so just did that. After 12 years in a band that went under the names Hope Springs Eternal, Cassius, and Hoverfly, he was signed to Taste Media and recorded an album at the famous Sawmills studio in Cornwall with two world class producers: Pat Moran (Edie Brickell and the New Bohemians) and John Cornfield (Radiohead, Supergrass, The Levellers). Muse were his support band on one tour.

After that he hung up his guitar for a few years to try to get an education and got lucky being offered a job in New Zealand. 10 years on, after releasing two solo albums and bubbling under the surface at various folk festivals and open mics, he's very glad to release this third album All Night Before The World Began with the help of some amazing musicians.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways

Releases

All Night Before The World Began
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Truth and Whiskey
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Slow Dawn Breaks
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem