14 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began

01 Aug 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album. Having not heard the other releases, I cannot say whether they are full band releases or solo, but on this one he provides (guitar, drums, keyboards, vocals) and he is joined by Emily Allen (violin, viola, string arrangements), James Currie (bass), and Evy Vermeire (vocals). I started smiling after about 30 seconds of this album, settled back, and allowed myself to be transported on a collection of ten wonderful songs which are a mix of English folk and traditional singer/songwriter.

Based strongly on the vocals of Bill and his picked guitar, the other musicians are used in different combinations so Evy may not be on every song, nor Emily, although James is a constant. He played with Bill back in the UK, and they have a wonderful understanding, so much so that James uses his instrument to provide underlying melodies as opposed to a 'standard' bass. It is also kept at the right level in the mix, so it never dominates, and he is adept at using the higher registers to create something special. Evy has a delicate voice, harmonising with Bill when the time is right, while Emily adds wonderful string which add to the depth of the accompaniment.

However, this is just icing on what is a very rich caked indeed, with Bill’s wonderful vocals and style, and I can easily imagine him performing with the likes of Davey Dodds, The Albion Band, Show of Hands or even Oysterband, while music such as this cries out to be heard at the mighty Cropredy Festival.

There is very little percussion, which combined with the delicate and highly placed bass means it is often Bill’s vocals which are the dominant force, with the rest of the instruments placed around it to lift it up and never smother it. One can imagine this being performed in the studio with the musicians looking at each other while they played (although given James is in Brisbane) that is probably unlikely. Most of the music is laidback and restrained, but the title track starts with some wonderful bass, and then we are off into a number of multiple parts which is somewhat quicker in tempo than the others.

This is a delightful album which any lover of modern English-style folk will do well to seek out, and I am already looking to see when I catch him in concert.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways

Bill spent the formative years of his adult life dedicated to the idea that making music was a beautiful and honorable thing to do, so just did that. After 12 years in a band that went under the names Hope Springs Eternal, Cassius, and Hoverfly, he was signed to Taste Media and recorded an album at the famous Sawmills studio in Cornwall with two world class producers: Pat Moran (Edie Brickell and the New Bohemians) and John Cornfield (Radiohead, Supergrass, The Levellers). Muse were his support band on one tour.

After that he hung up his guitar for a few years to try to get an education and got lucky being offered a job in New Zealand. 10 years on, after releasing two solo albums and bubbling under the surface at various folk festivals and open mics, he's very glad to release this third album All Night Before The World Began with the help of some amazing musicians.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways

Releases

All Night Before The World Began
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem