22 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Capital Theatre - Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022

Capital Theatre - Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022

28 Jul 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid). As soon as I walked in the door, I was confronted by easily the biggest merch stand I have ever seen for a NZ rock band, with loads of t-shirts and of course their wonderful debut album, available both in blue vinyl and on CD. The booklets also looked great, and if you have yet to hear this you really are missing out. I headed towards the sound desk to find somewhere to perch and realised that not only had Capital Theatre brought their own sound and lights, but the stage was something else! I was already concerned where the guys would be able to stand as it was packed with lighting stands. Just seeing them being operated beforehand showed we were in for a very special night indeed.

First up tonight were Tablefox, and although I have reviewed their excellent album Battles, this would be my first time seeing them play. With the press of a button all the Capital Theatre signage disappeared to change to Tablefox as Clinton (lead vocals, bass), Matt (lead guitar). Chris (guitar, backing vocals), and Henrik (drums) carefully made their way onto the stage to the strains of No Doubt. Gently picked guitars led us into the twin vocals of Desire or Love and we were off. Their sound is very much of the Eighties post punk alternative scene, bringing forth memories of Simple Minds, James, and Deacon Blue. The rhythm section lays the foundation, Clinton’s vocals provide the heart, and the guitars give us the edge, all wrapped up in wonderful melodies which have more than a hint of Sixties pop about them as well, almost as if Manfred Mann has jumped into the Eighties and then back out to the present day. Keep Them Guessing was soon completed and then they slowed it down with Reckless which feels much more like a modern folk song. Contrast that with Burning Bridges which sounded as if it had come straight out of Midnight Oil, full of venom and passion with real bite, easily the heaviest song of the night so far, albeit with staccato riffs.

By now the guys were well and truly settled in, rocking hard. A special mention must be made here of Capital Theatre and their crew as they were giving Tablefox every opportunity to shine with full use of the lights and great sound. I’ve seen too many support bands screwed by headliners in the past, but that was certainly not happening tonight. Time took us back into the days of Simple Minds, with a simply picked melodic lead guitar and a chorus which just cries out for audience singalong. With two support bands tonight, we were now heading towards the end with Battles followed by Something Better. I am sure there were quite a few people here tonight who had not previously come across Tablefox and they left the stage having made many new admirers and friends.

Midwave Breaks comprise singer-songwriter Bruce Conlon and drummer Paul Russell, and they had already been supporting Capital Theatre on other dates in the tour so were well bedded in by now. Paul said who they were, thanked Tablefox, kicked off the backing track and slowly the tension built until he hit the snare which was the signal for he and Bruce to head into Mind Made Up. Bruce provides guitar and vocals, Paul the drums, but everything else is tracked which means the two of them have a full sound to play with. I had not come across the guys before but could easily see why they were on the road with Capital Theatre as in some ways they are quite similar, although they have a more wall of sound approach to their music and less rock. They are also using effects on the vocals and the instruments, which contrast greatly with the cut through of the snare. We Are The Ones is more of a rocker, but still restrained in many ways. Mind you, I have never before seen some steps placed onto the stage just so the guitarist can stand on them for his solo, really cool!

No Way To Decide was somewhat slower, with a lot more space, but as with the songs which had gone before it was multi-faceted with lots of different sections, and the guys really mixing it up. Apparently that song was actually from their previous band together, Eight, but it fitted in perfectly with what they were performing tonight. Fine Line really showed Bruce’s vocals off, and by now they were really into the passion of the performance. Paul is a very visible timekeeper, someone who lives what he is playing, getting people engaged with his energy while Bruce is solidly in the moment, in a world of his own creation. They then moved into their debut single, Lemonade Hand Grenade, which was a big radio hit when it came out, it resonated across the country, peaking at number 3 on the radioscope rock chart, and came in at number 510 on the listener-voted Rock 2000. We then went into Shapeshifter’s In Colour, it is strange to think that the song is 9 years old now, and they certainly did it proud with some nice finger tapping. They finished the night with Moments Gone, a fine end to a nice set.

Now it was time for the main event, and the crowd had certainly swollen considerably and were pushing forward to get the best viewpoint for what promised to be a wonderful set. To celebrate the release of their fantastic debut album, A Hero’s Journey, Paul Reid (drums), Adam Stevenson (vocals, guitar), and Roy Oliver (guitar) were tonight going to be playing the album start to finish. They had just discovered that the opening track, Fait Accompli, had started getting serious radio airplay in the States in the week leading up to yesterday, so tonight really was going to be a celebration for all their hard work. The stage was in darkness, then a voice started telling us about the nuclear war, the video screens came to life, and we were off. Everything so far had been leading up to this, and with Paul setting up a huge rhythmic backbeat, Adam providing his wonderful vocals and locking in with Roy on guitar we were now on for a rock show. There a video screen behind Paul, as well as narrow ones on either side of the stage, all programmed to play the same animations, and it felt as if Tuning Fork was being turned into an arena. There was certainly a lot of screaming when they made their entrance, and the crowd, who had been rather dormant until then, were now very animated. 

As they were playing the album in sequence, the second number was the classic People, one of my favourite songs of all time (check out the video). It has drama, power, hooks, great vocals, wonderful lyrics. Who could want more? The guys had turned the evening into a melodic hard rock blast, and we were only two songs in before Second Skin started, which has a far more emotional and power ballad beginning, Roy asked the crowd to turn on the torches on their phones and wave them in the air which certainly had the desired effect. They were put away when the band started to belt it out – and with Adam not playing guitar on this track (and keyboards tonight being provided on a backing track – there really was not much room on the stage), it really allowed himself to pour everything into it. Before each song Adam explained where we were in the story (the album is a concept based on a traditional hero’s quest). 

We were now at Long Way To Fall, and it is hard to describe just how much passion and melody was bring produced on this small stage. The video display, sound, and lighting all added to the experience, but at the very heart of it were these songs which I first heard in the same venue a long time ago, since when this band have just gone from strength to strength. Fire is another which is a power ballad with balls at the beginning, before lifting and taking off. There are moments in this song when it is basically Adam with some reverb, but he has total confidence in his ability to hit all the notes. This is one of those albums where every song could be lifted as a single, all would suit the radio, and I am sure their forthcoming set of dates in the States is going to go down incredibly well indeed. Everyone in the venue was having a blast, but I do wonder how many had realised we were coming to the end of Side A, which meant we were already halfway through the set?

Having thanked various industry bodies, including Muzic.net.nz, from the stage – the crowd were then asked to shout “We are awesome” while they were being videoed so the guys could play it in the States where they keep being asked what the audiences are like back home. Now it was onto Side B with Delicately Poised, which allowed Roy to have some time in the spotlight with some great soloing. This is the third time I have seen them play live, and they are undoubtedly getting better all the time. Then it was time for the song which for some reason I have been singing all week, Force To Fight, with its crunching dual guitars, gentle sections, and its powerful message. Watch the video – some of it was played during the performance, and it is simply mesmerising. Adam’s clear vocals, Paul’s pummelling drums and Roy’s strident guitar combine to make something very special indeed. This is another where Roy is able to throw out some string bending notes and is a real belter.

Time started in total darkness while Adam was explaining where we are in the journey, Paul started it off and when the guitars hit the riffs the lights were blasting out and we were off again. Better Than This is another power ballad, a point of reflection, with Adam playing acoustic and both Roy and Paul being somewhat more restrained. It is a number which builds and contains plenty of drama. Now this meant we were at the end of the journey, the return, and the final song of the album, Save A Stranger. Dynamic and powerful, with Paul blasting the pattern as if it was the first song of the night and not the last, Roy riffing hard, with Adam still hitting the notes, it was the climax to what had been an amazing night of music. I know I wasn’t the only one who was upset the night was over as these guys are setting the bar really high for NZ music, and America is next. 

Of course, there was no way they were going to be allowed to leave just like that, and as a toast to Taylor Hawkins and to tie in with the theme of the hero’s journey, they came back to play Foo Fighters’ Everlong. It may have been a long evening with three bands, but the crowd were up for a boogie, and certainly reacted to the guys laying it down. This was a real event, something very special indeed.


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

Releases

A Hero's Journey
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland
SELECT artists.ID as artist_id, artists.Name, sum(artists_stats.Count) as hitcount FROM artists, artists_stats WHERE artists_stats.Date > ('2024-07-22' - INTERVAL 14 DAY)-0 AND artists.ID = artists_stats.AID AND artists.Enabled = 'y' AND artists.Deleted = 'n' GROUP BY artists_stats.AID ORDER BY hitcount DESC, Name LIMIT 10

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem